Tasty Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
A great basic recipe. I used whole wheat flour, and they were a bit dense. I loved them but people who are more used to lighter rolls might want to use half all purpose flour or skip the whole wheat flour entirely. I'm taking these to work tomorrow for a Thanksgiving pot luck. I may end up being the only person that eats them, though. That's ok. That means left overs to freeze and take some other time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I made it with whole wheat flour and APF and they turn out very good. Kids love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
3.25 stars for taste and texture. a little to yeasty for me and a bit dense for hamburgers. I made mine into longer buns for tortas and grilled them with some butter. My boys said they were good. 4 Stars for ease. I'm new to bread making, a total amateur...that could've contributed to texture issues. TFS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1st Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covina, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
These were wonderful! I did mix it in the mixer as another review suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
These are fantastic and I can't seem to keep them around when I make them. Even my boyfriend's old world Italian grandmother loved these buns! I like adding a tablespoon and a half dried basil to the flour/yeast mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
These were really easy to make, but too sweet for my taste. I will see if I can reduce the sugar in the next batch, and if so then I'll stick with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
These were a real hit with my family. We will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristyHH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wathena, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I made these buns in the bread machine on the dough cycle and then just rolled into buns and raised for 30 to 45 minutes. Very easy recipe and so I no longer have to buy them from the store! I also used 1/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup oil instead of all oil to cut down on the fat. These make very good hamburger or sandwhich buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Made these the other night for hamburgers and they were a total hit! Can't believe how easy they were and so much more flavor with a good burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
These were very easy and didn't take much time at all (I did let them rise on the cookie sheet about 1 hr in an oven I heated for only about 5 min, then turned off). I followed other reviewers advice and was sure to beat the mixture at least 3 mins. I think this is what makes them lighter and fluffy, not dense. I made 11 large buns to serve my pulled pork on. They were perfect. I didn't alter the recipe at all but only used abut 4.5 cups of flour. I left the dough a little bit tacky. Whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 372) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States