Tasty Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
These are amazing. It feels so good to make a bun at home as good as any you can buy, and you know all the ingredients included. Just reading the list of chemicals in cheap store-bought buns turns me off. These hold together wonderfully for burgers, and with just one rise, they could not be any easier. I've found It is important to mix the full three minutes before you add the final flour. And the final amount of flour varies depending on the day. That's true with lots of breads, and you just have to live with it. You just have to aim for a soft dough that pulls away from the bowl into a ball when you are kneading it. I never buy buns anymore. I always have the ingredients for these, and they are quick, requiring little pre-planning. And as a plus, they looking beautiful. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Not a bad bun, made it as the recipe is written except dividing into approximately 140 gram balls of dough to make 9 buns. I don't like a normal hamburger patty hanging way over the bun but I'm going to look at more recipes to find a lighter, less filling bun. I love a good burger but the recipes I've tried are heavier, denser, more like a hearty sandwich bread. Add that with a big piece of meat and all the fixings I just find it too much food. Thus, looking for a lighter fluffier bun similar to a store bought version that I can make with possibly more flavor....... Hope it isn't impossible! If I do make this recipe again... I would add an extra teaspoon of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I loved the speed and ease of this recipe. The buns were pretty good, but on their own merit and without the quickness, I probably would do a 3 star. They were a bit sweet - I'd probably cut the sugar a bit next time. But I will definitely be making these again. Easy when it is pretty speedy. I let them rise in the pan for about 45 min and that was enough. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fast_as_I_can

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
LOVED This.....I actually put the dry ingredients into my Ninja blender, heated up the liquid in a pyrex measure cup, and added a bit of Mrs. Dash Garlic and Herb seasoning. This is such a NICE DOUGH! Perfect on it's own, and so easy! Nice to have a perfect base to add to, to make the breads your own! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Isle, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I was looking for an easy recipe for buns and this is great! I made these so I didn't have to go out and buy some bread for sandwiches for the rest of the week. Great right out of the oven with a little butter on them. Will have with sandwiches tomorrow. I'm not sure about other people's reviews saying they are dense. I followed the instuctions almost exactly except I kneaded the dough a few times. I also only had 1/2 cup milk so I used an extra 1/2 cup of water. Mine turned out really fluffy. I put some sesame seeds on a few other them and will use those for hamburger buns. My batch made 15 total, 4 of which I made into hot dog shaped. Will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Holy cow, these were good! I did the whole thing in my KitchenAid, which made it super easy and fast. They rose well with the listed amount of yeast. I used white whole wheat flour, which made them a bit more "robust" than a white roll, but they were still amazingly good. We used them as hamburger buns and as sweet rolls (cut open with butter, brown sugar and cinnamon spread on them). My husband and I had to box them up and ban ourselves from the kitchen so we didn't eat them all! Thanks so much for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I have never made buns or bread before (except in my bread maker) and these turned out fabulously! Thank you for the recipe. My adult son and his friends couldn't wait for dinner, however, and ate them all before the burgers came off the grill! They enjoyed them with homemade crabapple jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
wonderfull easy to make recipe that can be used for hamburger bun, garlic knots, cinnamon rolls and anything else you can think of. My family loves this one time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Really nice - I cooked them at altitude (mile high) and put in a bit less yeast and increased the milk (but not too much adjustment either way). Next time I'll check them at 10 minutes as they were very brown at 12 minutes; they weren't burnt, but I like a lighter bun. Very nice taste - went great with hamburgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Great for hamburger/sandwich buns. I made them for pulled pork my husband made in the smoker. I don't think that I care for them as dinner rolls, but my husband like them on their own, as did my 9 year old who rubbed his belly and proclaimed them "delicious". Very easy to make, too. No kneeding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States