Tasty Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Fantastic. After mixing in the last flour I knead for 10 minutes...just like regular bread then the buns will not be dense. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I made these for a baby shower with chicken salad and they were a big hit. Everyone loved them! I even made them a few days ahead of time and froze them...let them thaw a few hours before the event and they were still fluffy, soft & delicious. My grandmother, a wonderful cook, raved about them and asked me for the recipe...the best compliment I could get. I did make a couple of modifications to the recipe including using 2.25 tsp of instant yeast instead of two packets (which I think is equivalent of one packet) and I used bread flour instead of all-purpose. And I kneaded the dough with my stand mixer for about 5 minutes. Wonderful recipe I'm sure I will use many more times. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RCHPFVR
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I will never buy hamburger buns again. So easy to make and taste wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCHPFVR
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Yum! Tried this recipe for the first time today, and they came out perfect. Follow the recipe and you will not be disappointed! Really quick & easy - I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bastrop, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I'd never tried my hand at homemade sandwich buns before, but this recipe seemed to simple to pass up. When I saw that there was no kneading and only a single rise, I was intrigued. When I pulled these gorgeous, fluffy buns from the oven, I was sold! They tasted great and held up well to saucy barbecued pork. I followed the recipe as written. This would be a great recipe for the first-time bread maker. High recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
These turned out nice and airy/fluffy for me. I'm not too experienced at baking buns but I found the dough really nice to work with. Delicious and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
These are amazing. It feels so good to make a bun at home as good as any you can buy, and you know all the ingredients included. Just reading the list of chemicals in cheap store-bought buns turns me off. These hold together wonderfully for burgers, and with just one rise, they could not be any easier. I've found It is important to mix the full three minutes before you add the final flour. And the final amount of flour varies depending on the day. That's true with lots of breads, and you just have to live with it. You just have to aim for a soft dough that pulls away from the bowl into a ball when you are kneading it. I never buy buns anymore. I always have the ingredients for these, and they are quick, requiring little pre-planning. And as a plus, they looking beautiful. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Not a bad bun, made it as the recipe is written except dividing into approximately 140 gram balls of dough to make 9 buns. I don't like a normal hamburger patty hanging way over the bun but I'm going to look at more recipes to find a lighter, less filling bun. I love a good burger but the recipes I've tried are heavier, denser, more like a hearty sandwich bread. Add that with a big piece of meat and all the fixings I just find it too much food. Thus, looking for a lighter fluffier bun similar to a store bought version that I can make with possibly more flavor....... Hope it isn't impossible! If I do make this recipe again... I would add an extra teaspoon of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I loved the speed and ease of this recipe. The buns were pretty good, but on their own merit and without the quickness, I probably would do a 3 star. They were a bit sweet - I'd probably cut the sugar a bit next time. But I will definitely be making these again. Easy when it is pretty speedy. I let them rise in the pan for about 45 min and that was enough. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fast_as_I_can

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
LOVED This.....I actually put the dry ingredients into my Ninja blender, heated up the liquid in a pyrex measure cup, and added a bit of Mrs. Dash Garlic and Herb seasoning. This is such a NICE DOUGH! Perfect on it's own, and so easy! Nice to have a perfect base to add to, to make the breads your own! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Isle, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States