Tasty Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Very good little buns. A bit sweet, but I'm getting used to that from white breads. I am not a sweet person, so maybe it's all me. I used honey instead of sugar bc I prefer honey and I had some honey that's carmalizing so I wanted to use it up. I was leary of mixing salt with yeast and no proofing, but they worked well enough. I used about 5 1/2 cups of flour total and ended up kneading the 1/2 cup in. It was just a bit sticky--it's a bit wet here. Bf loved them. I'll have to add them to my rotation. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This is a great recipe. Would make excellent dinner rolls. They were a little too sweet for my taste for a hamburger bun though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This didn't taste very good and didn't rise very well. I am rating it a three because I think the rising part was my fault
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by housgrll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This is our favorite recipe for hamburger buns, I actually use white whole wheat that I grind and it is still so light, I don't know how some people get dense buns. I let mine rise for 20-30 min. and they are definitly doubled in size by then. This is a recipe you should try if you want some good hamburger buns! Oh I forgot to add that I do put the water (110 deg), milk (110 deg), yeast, and sugar in my kitchen aid and let it sit for 10 min (when it gets bubbly) and then add the rest of the ingredients and let it knead for10 min or so. I don't know if that makes a difference or not, that's how I always work with yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ARISTA74
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This recipe was very good and easy to follow. The buns came out bakery-quality good. I replaced 2 cups of the all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour to make it healthier. It tasted great. And it took less than an hour! These make really big buns, so, the next time I make them, I'll probably make 15 instead of 12 buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARISTA74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownstown, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Buns were wonderful and so simple to make. My husband thought they would make better dinner rolls than hamburger buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Primes Rayburn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Perkinston, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Yes, they did smell wonderful and did turn out wonderfully soft... but I was a little disappointed as they were not all that tasty. So the second time i made them, I doubled the salt and they came out just right for us. It is a great recipe to play around with. Next time I'll make these with raisins and a little more sugar..mmmh:-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swissmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Cut the recipe in half and thru all ingredients into the bread machine on dough cycle. Added salt and olive oil to the tops before baking. VERY soft and really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I used 1 cup of white suger instead and it made this recipe even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Greenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I honestly have to give this recipe 5 stars. Not only did I think these tasted great but so did my whole family. They can be used as hamburger buns or sandwich buns. I also liked how easy they were to make, I usually don´t have luck in making any kind of bread but these were no fail :) Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela in Germany

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Georgetown, Illinois, USA
Living In: Borken, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 372) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States