Tasty Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Incredible and so easy! At the suggestion of another reviewer I made some of them into strips and filled with a strawberry (rather than apple) filling (strawberries,little sugar, little flour) and sprinkled a powder sugar glaze over them to make danishes (powder sugar glaze is just the sugar, vanilla and butter and a little water). Thank you for this new family tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Great buns, very easy to make, just be careful because they get quite large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Casselton, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I started making these in 2002 when I didn't want to drive to the store for hamburger buns. I haven't purchased buns since. A smaller version makes a great dinner roll with an egg wash right before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Im a beginer bread maker and these tasty buns made our bbq chicken sammies the best they have ever been. I will use this recipe for sloppy joes and everything else instead of store buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Fantastic! These are so easy to make. I am on a low-sodium diet, so I cut the salt in half and they were still excellent. They make great mini-buns for pulled pork sliders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by K-Dub
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
These were really good. They came out a little dense for me, I'm not sure if maybe I should have let the dough sit for a little bit longer. Per other reviews I only put an 1/8 cup of sugar in the mix and they came out wonderful. My BF ate them with burgers and I dipped them in the Delicious Ham and Potato Cheese Soup recipe from this site. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
The dough of this recipe is great to work with. I did, however, let it rised twice. The buns came out soft and very tasty. I made 6 hamburger buns and 7 hot dog buns. Another keeper. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
These are very good-tasting and good-textured buns--perfect for homemade sandwich buns. I only gave the recipe 4 stars because I had to mix in quite a bit of extra flour (1-2 cups) just to get the dough dry enough to handle. It was too sticky to shape or hold a shape when I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lazerclaire
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This recipie is great and it is easy! The first time around I substituted 2 cups of wheat flour and I was out of milk so I used yogurt. I was very pleased with the result. I just made a second batch with new variations. I added a little less yeast and sugar. Also I wanted to try mixing in whole grains so I sprouted some wheat berries(to make them soft) and cooked some quinoa, I also mixed in some flax seeds and rye. I mixed all of these in after mixing the liquids, and before the remainder of the flour. I still used a mix of white and wheat four as well as the yogurt in this recipe. Wow what a success! I am very pleased with the addition of the whole grains, I will do this agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I just made these buns for dinner tonight and they turned out great! I forgot to mix the batter for 3 minutes in the beginning and then got distracted when the dough was rising under the bowl, so the dough ended up under the bowl for twice as long, but they turned out fluffy and superb despite all my mistakes. I also made the Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers and these went great together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States