Tasty Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I just made these buns for dinner tonight and they turned out great! I forgot to mix the batter for 3 minutes in the beginning and then got distracted when the dough was rising under the bowl, so the dough ended up under the bowl for twice as long, but they turned out fluffy and superb despite all my mistakes. I also made the Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers and these went great together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
These were great! I made them in my KA and they were super easy. I made into both hot dog and hamburger/sandwich rolls. I baked, then froze some and they were great thawed, as well as fresh from the oven. I also froze a batch after the first rise, to later bake and serve, but I haven't baked and served them yet, so I'll have to edit my review then and update how that worked out for me. These are a tad sweet, so if you don't care for a sweeter roll, you may want to cut back the sugar a bit. I don't think I'll buy rolls again! TY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
great buns! i converted it to make in my bread machine and it worked great. the buns were HUGE! my kids dont want the "yucky ones" from the store anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Their name describes them exactly - TASTY. I found that they make an excellent dinner roll, but a little tender for a hamburger bun, although tasty. I sliced them and toasted them for breakfast with butter and jam...yummy! I halved the recipe, but next time I'll use the full recipe, since they disappeared too quickly. So fast to make, you don't have to plan hours ahead to enjoy this great treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAT79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Slightly dense, good dinner roll, not necessarily a great hamburger bun. Was delicious for egg and sausage sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I wanted to try this out by making it as written first. These were very easy to make in my Kitchen Aid and they were fast too. Now, what I've noticed that may be helpful to others is that it seems to have just a little too much of a yeast taste, so decreasing it a little may be the best solution because for 12 buns I don't believe the recipe would be impacted at all since they grew so much and I probably could have made 13 or 14. Besides that I'll have to try to substitute butter for the oil next time because in my opinion that would have made the recipe true to it's name "Tasty". Have to agree with Mallinda... They were absolutely beautiful to look at! I paired it with "Barbecued Beef Brisket from this site".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I think these are wonderful! They were very easy to make using my KitchenAid mixer. the only change I made was I used a little less white sugar, probably more like 1/8 cup. I have 12 big hamburger-size buns that I'll be using tonight with the Zesty BBQ chicken from this site. My kids and I each had one with our lunch a little while ago though and we all agreed it's a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Fantastic recipe! Not only do these taste good and have a nice texture, they're easy and quick to make, and they're beautiful to look at. I'll definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
These were good,but they were dense and a little sweet. tasted more like a bun for a breakfast sandwich or fried chicken than a burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
These buns are great! Very versatile too. I have made them twice, and I am giving the recipe 4 stars because they come out relatively flat. I followed the instructions exactly, so I am not sure what to make of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States