Tasty Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Fantastic! These are so easy to make. I am on a low-sodium diet, so I cut the salt in half and they were still excellent. They make great mini-buns for pulled pork sliders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by K-Dub
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
These were really good. They came out a little dense for me, I'm not sure if maybe I should have let the dough sit for a little bit longer. Per other reviews I only put an 1/8 cup of sugar in the mix and they came out wonderful. My BF ate them with burgers and I dipped them in the Delicious Ham and Potato Cheese Soup recipe from this site. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
The dough of this recipe is great to work with. I did, however, let it rised twice. The buns came out soft and very tasty. I made 6 hamburger buns and 7 hot dog buns. Another keeper. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
These are very good-tasting and good-textured buns--perfect for homemade sandwich buns. I only gave the recipe 4 stars because I had to mix in quite a bit of extra flour (1-2 cups) just to get the dough dry enough to handle. It was too sticky to shape or hold a shape when I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lazerclaire
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This recipie is great and it is easy! The first time around I substituted 2 cups of wheat flour and I was out of milk so I used yogurt. I was very pleased with the result. I just made a second batch with new variations. I added a little less yeast and sugar. Also I wanted to try mixing in whole grains so I sprouted some wheat berries(to make them soft) and cooked some quinoa, I also mixed in some flax seeds and rye. I mixed all of these in after mixing the liquids, and before the remainder of the flour. I still used a mix of white and wheat four as well as the yogurt in this recipe. Wow what a success! I am very pleased with the addition of the whole grains, I will do this agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I just made these buns for dinner tonight and they turned out great! I forgot to mix the batter for 3 minutes in the beginning and then got distracted when the dough was rising under the bowl, so the dough ended up under the bowl for twice as long, but they turned out fluffy and superb despite all my mistakes. I also made the Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers and these went great together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
These were great! I made them in my KA and they were super easy. I made into both hot dog and hamburger/sandwich rolls. I baked, then froze some and they were great thawed, as well as fresh from the oven. I also froze a batch after the first rise, to later bake and serve, but I haven't baked and served them yet, so I'll have to edit my review then and update how that worked out for me. These are a tad sweet, so if you don't care for a sweeter roll, you may want to cut back the sugar a bit. I don't think I'll buy rolls again! TY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
great buns! i converted it to make in my bread machine and it worked great. the buns were HUGE! my kids dont want the "yucky ones" from the store anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Their name describes them exactly - TASTY. I found that they make an excellent dinner roll, but a little tender for a hamburger bun, although tasty. I sliced them and toasted them for breakfast with butter and jam...yummy! I halved the recipe, but next time I'll use the full recipe, since they disappeared too quickly. So fast to make, you don't have to plan hours ahead to enjoy this great treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAT79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Slightly dense, good dinner roll, not necessarily a great hamburger bun. Was delicious for egg and sausage sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States