Tasty Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
For those of you who found these buns to dense, the key factor I've found in how fluffy they are is the inital mixing before you add the rest of the flour. When I mixed these by hand i never did the full three minutes, since the mixture looked smooth well before that. They came out kinda dense this way, but still tasty. When I was able to use a mixer I mixed longer and faster, and I was surprised how fluffy that made the buns. I learned later why this happens. True yeast does do most of the rising and forming air bubbles. However with out proper mixing there will be air bubbles in the bread and they will be uneven in size. What the mixing does is with grainy things like salt kinda punches holes in the dough even in the soupy state before adding all the flour, these holes in the dough will remain and be filled by the CO2 made by the yeast during baking, thus fluffy buns
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
As of this date(January 2014) I have been making these buns for almost 15 years. My family LOVES this recipe. They prefer hamburger buns from this recipe to any others I have tried, including store bought...these don't fall apart. These buns make great sandwiches, too. I usually quadruple the recipe for my large family because the kids love to snack on them and we like to give them away. I have been making breads and rolls "from scratch' for decades and this is a great, fast, easy, recipe. It is by far the best hamburger bun recipe I have used, but we also love them as dinner rolls. It IS basic so you can adapt the ingredients to your liking... read the reviews and see what others have done. I have shared this recipe with lots of friends and family. Everyone who has tasted them loves them. My one DIL made these as her first venture into yeast bread making and had great success. Another friend made them as her first venture into yeast breads and her MIL was "very impressed." It is pretty much a "no fail" recipe. You will be glad you tried them. I have already passed this recipe on to my children. Both of my daughters have people requesting them. I have also made these with fresh ground whole-wheat flour. They were still excellent! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANIS MILLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2001
Make these if your house stinks - :) The aroma alone is worth the price of the ingredients. I made a batch and cut into 32 strips. I rolled each strip into a circle and pumped apple pie filling into the center. I let rise and then baked. I drizzled powdered sugar glaze over the top and called them danish - they were a BIG hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Hmmmmmm, I hate to be the "rebel reviewer", but these buns weren't great for hamburgers. They had an overwhelming yeast smell & they were a little dense as well. I may use this recipe again for rolls, but I would take the suggestion of Denise & add less yeast & sub butter for the oil. Thanks Charlene ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Not tasty enough for dinner rolls but an excellent hamburger bun. I even shaped into long rolls for hotdogs and they were yummy. For Onion hamburger buns I added a Tbsp. of dried minced onion to the liquids and that was good too. This is a good, easy, quick recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2000
I have used this recipe many times. Even my mom enjoyed these buns, and she was the one who made all the homemade bread on the farm. Having her seal of approval on this recipe means alot. I use this recipe to make 12 pan buns, and also for my pizza buns. An easy and never fail recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
Charlene I have been making my own breads for many years. Ive tried many different recipes for hamberg buns but nothing compares to your's it's the best in flavour & texture.By the way I have just tried adding the spices for Hotcross Buns to yours, they turned out terrific. Thanks for submitting your recipe for all of us to enjoy too. Helena in Ont.Ca 04 05 02
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
These are good for hamburger buns, or they make great dinner rolls. I've also wrapped hot dogs in them to make pigs in a blanket. Good, easy bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Wilmore, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
I've made these twice (measuring very carefully) and I've had to add a lot more flour than was called for just to make the dough less "soupy". The buns tasted good, but a little too sweet for my taste. They were super easy. I'll keep making them for dinner rolls but prefer something less sweet for sandwich buns. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
I cannot believe how easy this was to make!!! Forgot to buy dinner rolls one night and found this recipe, what a lifesaver! Hubby thought they were perfect and daughter gobbled 2 up for breakfast! (Toasted w/ butter) We made another batch a couple of nights ago for leftover chicken sandwiches. Great recipe for an all purpose bun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIERRAMUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States