Tasty Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
These were great had been on vacation on Bald Head Island and the local market had ran out of hamburger buns the night we decided to cook. No problem I had extra flour and we made these buns. Excellent and really rather simple. I will definitely make these again even when buns are available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Awesome! I am a very poor baker - and these rolls turned out perfect. I only needed 6 rolls so I cut the recipe in half and it turned out really good, plus it was so easy! Next time, I'll try adding some garlic for garlic rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
These are absolutely fantastic! I have made them 3 times now and they are consistently great!! I even froze them and just set on the counter over the course of the day to thaw, and they never had that strange frozen taste some breads get. I cut the recipe in half and used my bread machine's dough setting. I added all liquid ingredients first (I also substituted raw honey for the white sugar in the same amount) and then added flour, salt and yeast on top of liquids. Set it for dough cycle and let it do all the work. After it was done I simply shaped the buns and baked in the oven -- they smell amazing and are just delicious! I have used them as hamburger buns, sandwich buns, dinner rolls -- I can see these making fantastic cinnamon rolls too! This is a super easy recipe that is consistently wonderful. I will NEVER buy store bought buns again after these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was my first attempt at making buns and they turned out fantastic. I do not own a mixer, so I did it all by hand. Quick and very easy. My DH loved them so much, I have to make another batch already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Love Love Love this recipe! We have them with everything, i now know the recipe off by heart. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckieboo
Home Town: Reading, Berkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This recipe makes tasty hamburger buns but even better dinner rolls. It yielded 26 dinner rolls baked on a 17" cookie sheet. I followed Bills advice to beat the dough for 3 minutes with the mixer. They were flavorful and light. They stayed fresh even better than the buns and they froze well. This recipe is quick, easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Very plain but also perfect for burgers, etc. This takes me 45 min. of uninterrupted time to get them rising on the pan. Considering there's nothing left to do besides get them in the oven, that's pretty good but I need remember this and not start them when I don't have that much time to devote at once. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
These were very good. I had to sub the milk with Silk Soy Milk since we don't buy milk. I don't think they would make good hamburger buns, but they make yummy sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
A great basic recipe. I used whole wheat flour, and they were a bit dense. I loved them but people who are more used to lighter rolls might want to use half all purpose flour or skip the whole wheat flour entirely. I'm taking these to work tomorrow for a Thanksgiving pot luck. I may end up being the only person that eats them, though. That's ok. That means left overs to freeze and take some other time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I made it with whole wheat flour and APF and they turn out very good. Kids love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States