Tasty Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Despite problems I have had with breads in the past, I made these and could not have been more pleased with how they turned out. As suggested by another reviewer, I was sure to mix the ingredients the full three minutes (with a Kitchenaid) before adding in the final flour and they came out very light. They did have a touch of sweetness to them, but I like that--in fact, I am going to add a bit more sugar next time to see what happens. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Sooo good! I used them for sloppy joes and I am going to try them with cabbage burgers next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA
Living In: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
these are better than any store bought buns , i used a little less yeast, melted butter and jam while they are warm just melts in your mouth , making more for hubby to have sandwiches on for lunch, can use this recipe for virtually any bread recipe need, this is truly an awesome and easy recipe, recommending it to my daughter and friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myra Conn Chalmers-Dulmage

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Glace Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Very easy to make, they came out beautiful and tasted wonderful!! I know I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin' for cash
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Made nice, fluffy burger and hotdog rolls (I got 6 large burger buns, and 8 hotdog rolls from the recipe.) I added some ground flax seed, but made no other changes. I used all organic ingredients. Waaaay cheaper than buying them at the health food store!! Quick and easy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This is a very simple recipe that anyone can follow. However, I modified my methods a bit. 1) Instead of vegetable oil, I used butter 2) Instead of milk, vanilla soy milk 3) I mixed the flower and salt together in a bowl, made a well in the center, placed the yeast in and then poured in the warm mixture (milk, butter, water) and let it sit for a minute or two for the yeast to activate. There was too much yeast, so I would suggest only doing about 1.5 packages of dry yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rnewbs
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
awesome. Used a mixer to stir the dough both times, left it nice and tender, but well kneaded, without me getting sticky. It was hard enough just to get it out of the mixer! Mine ended up rising twice, as I put it under the bowl, then had to nurse my son. By the time I got back to it i was doubled in size, but I cut it up and made eight good sized hamburger buns and eight hot dog buns. It cooks fast, keep your eye on the oven! I'm so glad I found this recipe, super easy and taste the way rolls should. I think butter could make them a little bit better, next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rnewbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I loved these. They were so easy to make! I made half the reciepe, not being sure if they would come out for me, but they did and they were wonderful! I used olive oil and honey instead of sugar. I also followeed the advice of someone below and I stirred it for 3 minutes by hand and it was not dense. It was the perfect texture to use on my bbq pulled beef. I will def. make these again. So easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RatherBeCooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Easy enough, but I didn't care for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
These were Great! We wanted to grill hamburgers today but didn't have any buns. So I made these and let me tell you they were a hit! I used quick-rise yeast. Tastes better than any storebought and did not fall apart.I also took care to mix the dough for the time suggested. I am going to try this as hotdog buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 372) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States