Tasty Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Marcela
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I made these and they are delicious! The only thing I changed was that I added buttermilk instead of regular milk because I didn't have any. They were sooo soft and taste really good. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
So easy!! Will definitely be making these again, and again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I was hosting a BBQ last night and wanted a gourmet burger bun but didn't want to pay for 20 gourmet buns at the store. This recipe was an absolute hit! No one could believe that I made the buns. They worked out perfectly. I used my kitchen aid mixer and let the dough stand for longer than 10 mins (closer to 45). I then punched it down and formed it into rolls. I pushed down the rolls twice before baking so they would not be too round. I agree the flavour of these may not be ideal for a roll, but they were awesome burger buns. Very happy with this recipe!! I used a combo of bread flour and all purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katieb23

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This goes down in history as one of my biggest cooking tragedies of all time. To be fair with the rating, I changed an ingredient. I used "bread flour" instead of "all purpose flour". That must have been the problem. Please use this review as a "what NOT to do" with this recipe. Here is what you shouldn't do: I used bread flour instead of AP flour because that is what I had. I used my Kitchen Aid stand mixer. I used the regular attachment (don't know what it's called) to mix in step one until creamy as recipe suggested for 3 minutes. Then I switched it to the dough hook as I proceeded with step 2. I let it mix/knead for about 5+ minutes. The dough was BEAUTIFUL and easy to work with. I thought everything was going great. I followed the rest of directions exactly. The buns came out looking like hockey pucks and RAW. I put them back in the oven for a total of THIRTY MINUTES!!!! They weren't burnt, but still FLAT and raw and doughy in the middle. What a tragedy. They were disgusting. I make breads all of the time. I can only assume that the bread flour and using my mixer were TERRIBLE mistakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Very easy and tasty indeed... Although I've replaced 1/2 of the oil with some (leftover!) melted butter and they turned out divine! I'll be making them again (and again and again!) and try them with some whole grain flour too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellouni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thessaloniki, Central Macedonia, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
. I have made it 3 times in 3 days doubling We had them with our clam chowder soup, chili, as sandwiches for lunch and with burgers. I have had to chase my husband and teenage boys out of the kitchen, they can't resist warm from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I made these with my stepdaughter yesterday on a whim and they were delicious! Hardest part was shaping the dough for hot dogs - but we'll keep working on our technique. I'm glad to have this recipe as something to make when I need fresh rolls... Just the thing I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Everybody loves the bun. P.S. I replaced 1 cup of all purpose flour with 1cup whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Yum! I didn't let them rise nearly as long as the recipe stated, but they were still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sallee Glickler
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Very easy, very nicely flavored. Will be doing these more often, and testing out variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sallee Glickler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States