Tasty Breaded Seitan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Awesome recipe. I was skeptical when it was cooking (it didn't smell that appetizing) but the taste was awesome. Both my husband, and my kids (ages 2 & 4) loved it. They boys particulary liked it with barbeque sauce and honey mustard. Hubby and I ate it as it. Go easy on the cumin, however, as it can be overpowering very quickly. My only complaint is that the recipe didn't even come close to feeding 4. This was more like a serving for two. I doubled it, and the four of us ate every bite along with brown rice risotto and oven roasted vegetables. Great veggiew entree!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Just a note to those who couldn't get the breading to stay on. Put 2 Tbsps of mayonnaise into a bag along with the seitan and squeeze it around until seitan is coated. Dip into bread crumbs, then fry or bake. If you're a vegan, use one of the many eggless mayonnaise brands sold at health food stores like Trader Joe's and health food co-ops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
This is great! I just love Seitan and am so happy to have found a recipe that uses it. Not many people know about it who haven't been vegetarians for a while. It's nice a spicy, but not hot spicy and coats well. I put it on a bed of rice. Thank you for another yummy recipe Karla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I made seitan today for the first time and wanted to make something with it that was not stir-fry (since I didn't want to wait on rice). This was fantastic! I was running low on soy sauce so I used Bragg's instead, and I only had about 1T of nutritional yeast so I just used all-purpose flour to make up the remainder of the 1/3C. I sliced the seitan into strips about 3/4" thick. The breading stayed on without any problems -- you have to get the oil hot enough is what I've found. My seitan was a little spongy so I was worried they would stay spongy, but nope, they fried up nice and crispy! I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
So good! I used homemade seitans and did as some other reviewers suggested and doubled the nutritional yeast. Instead of the tamari, I dipped the seitans in a mixture of Bragg's liquid aminos (practically the same thing, flavor-wise) and beaten egg to make the mixture stick better. The finished product tasted like school cafeteria chicken fried steak (in a good way), so next time I'm going to make a gravy and mashed potatoes to go with it. This is definitely the best breaded seitans recipe I've tried. *I have since tried serving these with gravy and mashed potatoes, and they are really good. To make a good chicken-fried-steak-style gravy for them, reserve the oil after cooking the seitans and just whisk in and cook 1/4 c. flour, add vegetable broth until the flour is wet enough to completely dissolve, and then add 4 cups milk. Bring the gravy to a simmer and cook for about 7 minutes until thickened. Season with kosher salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly using my own homemade seitan and it was SO good! Really, the best seitan recipe I've tasted. Even my non-vegetarian husband liked it ... it definitely lives up to the "tasty" part of its name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
My daughter is a new vegetarian, and finding ingredients that have the texture of meat, with a great taste has required some research and experimentation. This has become our favorite. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
This doesnt taste good. The recipe as is, all of the breading fell off into the pan. I tried it again making in vegetarian as opposed to vegan by dipping it into an egg/milk wash. The breading held but it still wasnt right. My mother said that it tasted like a no-name chicken nugget with additives. I will not try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T9CHEBIT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
This was very good! This was my first time trying seitan, and I actually liked it better than tofu (and I really love tofu)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
Ahh this is so amazing! It ACTUALLY tastes like chicken! THis is possibly the best way ive ever prepared seitan. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Tasty Tuna Burgers

See how to make truly tasty tuna burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States