Tasty 2-Step Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
O.K. here is my version to liven things up just a little. I also add 1 TBS. chopped parsley, 1 TBS fresh basil or 1 tsp. dried basil, and either fresh chopped tomato, canned drained diced tomato or chopped sun-dried tomatoes along with a little white wine. I let it simmer on low until the chicken is very, very tender. I serve it sometimes with rice, pasta, or mashed potatoes. I also sometimes add sliced zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by go away

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This dish was really tasty and easy to prepare. I did make a few changes. I substituted olive oil for veg. oil. I also added onion, garlic, fresh basil, red and greed bell peppers, peas, and carrots. The sauce was very tasty. It was great served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
you can do so much with this recipe, i loved it! i minced 2 cloves of garlic to brown the chicken in (i seasoned the chicken with sea salt and pepper and a little onion powder, i didn't have any fresh onions). when i added the soup and the water i added cut up red potatoes and carrots that i had mixed with some fresh parsley. i covered it all and let it simmer on low for about 20 minutes, then added half a can of peas. so good on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
well, this was terrific, and just what i needed---a simple, fast recipe with few ingredients...i used enormous chicken breasts, so the cooking time was longer, and i added an onion, some garlic, and some mushrooms...my husband loved it, and it doesn't break the bank or the calorie count!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This is one of those super simple, easy-peasy "meat and potato" classics -- and a great way for me to empty my vegetable drawer. Add onions, broccoli, red peppers, mushrooms, celery, zucchini -- whatever you have on hand -- and this dish takes on a flourish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I was surprised with how delicious this turned out! I'm not usually a big fan of canned mushroom soup. But using the advice of other reviewers to spice things up, this turned out to be a spectacular weekday dish. I cooked my chicken fully in a small amount of water (instead of oil). I then tossed my cooked chicken breasts in the fridge overnight with 2 cloves of chopped garlic tossed on top (not mixed in). The next afternoon, the rest of the recipe was cake. I tossed the garlic from on top of the chicken, 1/4 of a chopped onion, 1 tsp of basil, and 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes into a pan with a 1/4 tsp of margarine and sauteed it all. I then added the mushroom soup and water, mixed it up and followed the rest of the recipe as written. After adding the chicken, I mixed in 1 tbsp of freshly chopped parsley to the sauce and let it simmer for 6 minutes. I served it over rice (made in the 6 minutes that the sauce simmered). When cooking the dish I thought there was way too much sauce, but it turned out to be the perfect amount with rice. S.O. loved it. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Was looking for a quick recipe that used chicken and mushroom soup as a base and this really did the trick! I halved the recipe and added 1/2 red onion, 1 clove garlic, 1 tsp dried basil, 1 tsp dried parsley, 2 small red potatoes, 1/2 cup carrots, 1/2 cup zucchini, 1/2 tomato, and 1/2 red pepper. The result was delicious! I would give the recipe more stars, but to be fair, like most others who reviewed the recipe, I deviated quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEMGIRL1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Good and easy. I added garlic powder and onion powder to it and also some cut red potatoes. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and the it came out great! very tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This was great with just a little tweaking. I added some salt, pepper, garlic salt, rosemary, and basil to the chicken before cooking. The mixture of these spices was wonderful for this recipe. After only 5 min cooking in the sauce the chicken was perfectly tender. The sauce goes perfect over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by divergerjulz

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States