Taste of Home's Creamy Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is the coleslaw recipe I've been searching for on AR! I'm picky about coleslaws and will try different ones, but I've been longing for a go-to classic style recipe and now I've found it! I used 1/4 cup Hellman's lite mayo, 1/4 cup lite Miracle whip, and 1/4 cup buttermilk (plus a couple of extra Tbsp. for good measure). I used light sour cream and left the rest the ingredients the same. I tossed the dressing with the coleslaw mix and let it chill in the fridge for about 4 hours. It was so creamy and so good. It tasted just like the kind I've gotten at some seafood restaurants along side really good crab cakes. I however chose to serve this with fried chicken and buttermilk biscuits for a kind of KFC night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I am not a fan of coleslaw but this is really good..served at a party and got rave reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fox River Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This was a big hit at dinner tonight. I didn't have mustard and it was still really good. The seasoned salt gives it a very diferent taste. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
If you havent tried a bit of horseradish to this sweet and tangy coleslaw, please do. I found that the bite is great with the tang, and also a little lemon pepper gives it passazzzzz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
I LOVE THIS SLAW! This is the perfect coleslaw. Very creamy. When making this recipe, you will think that there won't be enough of the sauce. But upon sitting for a bit, the slaw "relaxes" and it's perfect. Only takes about 1/2 hour for it to relax. Mine didn't get runny, even the next day and I followed the recipe to a T. Update: This has become my "go to" coleslaw recipe. I consider myself a coleslaw snob and I just can't get enough of this slaw. I now even leave out the sour cream and just use about 1 1/4- 1/2 cup mayo with the rest of the ingredients staying the same. INCREDIBLE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
This is the best coleslaw I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARRIETTE77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
I was a little concerned that the sour cream would not tastes good but it was delicious. The dry mustard must kick up the flavor. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
Was a great coleslaw recipe. My family liked it and we will use this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACEY5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Very good! The only thing I did different was I was out of seasoned and celery salt so I made my own seasoned salt and it still turned out awesome. Also ran out of dry mustard one time and still was great. Have made many times now :) You can also cut up and make your own coleslaw mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Downsville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
This was very good--my husband usually only likes KFC coleslaw, but he liked this. I ended up using about a teaspoon of prepared mustard instead of ground (I didn't have any ground!), and it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States