Tarte Tatin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
My family really liked this recipe. The first time I made it, I used a springform pan, and despite lining it with foil, I still had seepage onto my baking tray. The second time I made it I used a 9 inch cake pan. I lined the inside of the pan with nonstick aluminum foil and trimmed the excess to 3 inches above the height of the pan. There was no seepage and the tart removed easily from the pan. I also added some cinnamon and nutmeg for extra flavor. All in all an easy recipe to prepare and quite delicious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Thank you, Thaddeus for submitting your recipe, all the ones on the web are so complicated! My friend made this for my birthday, and then showed me how to do it, but I did not have a recipe for the pastry part and could not replicate what she showed me. I also needed the reminder for slicing the apples thinly...it makes a difference. So, let me share a tip about using an ovenproof saucepan. She melted the sugar on the stovetop in the same pan, until amber color and turned off the heat and turned the pan to coat the sides, and then layered the sliced and peeled apples, and topped with the pastry. No mess, no added butter, and when you fill the pan to the top with apples (took 5-6 apples) it's easy to flip over and comes out great! Fresh whipped cream is a great final touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
The taste of this tart was good, but certainly not what I would call "sinful". A few spices (such as cinnamon and nutmeg) are needed in this... Also, DO NOT put this in a springform pan, because it does not create "drips" in your oven. It creates an entire pool of melted butter and sugar that will stink up your entire house as it burns on the bottom of your oven! And I followed the directions (and then some) and put numerous sheets of foil under the pan in all directions, and it still leaked everywhere!!!!! Beware and use a tart pan or pie plate for this, but nothing with a removable bottom!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Simple and delicious! I did add a little apple pie spice sprinkled on top before I added the apples. I will make it again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was easy to make and a tasty recipe. I used a 9 inch cake pan and it worked perfectly. Like the other reviewers, I added some cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg to the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Needs more flavor as cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, chunky nuts, etc... i did it with many more ingredients and taste great¡¡¡¡
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Sorry, I followed the directions exactly as stated and it didn't turn out very good. Not anything like a real tarte tatin anyways...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
My guests loved this tarte. It was so easy to make that I had my husband do it while I cooked the appetizers. Again, we did not use the springform pan, just a regular pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This was very good and very easy to make. I made the recipe exactly as written except I added a sprinkle of cinnamon. I followed the suggestion to use a 9" cake pan rather than a spring form pan and that worked beautifully. I used Jonathan apples and my home made pie crust - both contributed to the excellent result. Pieces are very rich but very thin. A scoop of vanilla ice cream on top of the warm tart would have been perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States