Tarte aux Moutarde (French Tomato and Mustard Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I don't know if I did something wrong or what, but we couldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BelovedBeaumont

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This is the exact recipe I was looking for. I worked for a French woman who made this once and i completely forgot how she told me to make it. Instead of olive oil she used vinaigrette, a different cheese (here in Paris it's the cheese in a small clear unmarked package) instead of Swiss, and basil instead of herbs de Provence. I changed it a bit like hers but still a great, easy to make dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Garcia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This was OK. I love mustard but found this way too mustard-y. Maybe it was the mustard I used, but all we could taste and breathe was mustard. It burned my nose. I think 1/2 a cup on the bottom of the pie might have been a little much. It was probably 1/2 an inch thick on the pie crust I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Very good tart, but a tad much on the mustard. I also think I'd want something added to this like bacon or sausage, but that's personal preference. Very tasty! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Prebake the crust for 10 minutes or it will get soggy. I love Tarte aux Moutarde and it reminds me of my time in Lyon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This is super delicious. I've made tomato tarts from similar recipes before, but the thing that this recipe taught me was to put a layer of cheese on the bottom of the crust--that really improves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Made this for recipe group August 20, 2011. The pie makes a beautiful presentation however the flavors just didn’t work for us. We felt the mustard was too dominant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This was great and so easy! I didn't have herbs de provence, so I just added some fresh herbs from my garden. I think the key is to use a great mustard and a great cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ibbz
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group. Love the presentation factor. Taste is really good, the creamy cheese, the tart tomato, the earthy herbs and crunchy top crust are wonderful. The bottom crust is a little soft, but overall a wonderful combination of flavors. Daughter commented that we should make this again with different cheeses. I agree. I can't wait for tomorrow to have it for lunch. If there is any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Prepared for the Recipe Group. Hubby and I both really enjoyed this for lunch today. All of the flavors go together so well and it is a very easy recipe that was fast to throw together with great results. After reading the reviews, I made a couple of small changes. I pre-baked the crust for 10 min at 350 and allowed it to cool for a few min. For the mustard, I used a couple of TBS of Grey Poupon and then mixed in a couple of tsp of stone ground mustard and spread approx 3/4 of that mixture on the crust. I sliced the tomatoes and then placed them all on paper towels for approx 30 min to drain and then proceeded with the recipe. All of these small changes worked out very well in preventing a soggy crust and watery filling. We will definitely make this again very soon. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States