Tarte a L'oignon (French Onion Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
First of all, let me say that this onion pie is absolutely delicious. I made modifications because, after reading all the reviews and scrutinizing the recipe myself, I didn't think all of the filling would fit into one regular 9" pie crust. I used only 6 slices of bacon, 4 medium-size Vidalia onions, 3/4 cup of half and half and 3 jumbo eggs. Upon the suggestion of "reciprocipe," I added lt. brown sugar and balsamic vinegar to the filling. I also decided to place a lattice crust on top to use up some dough scraps I had. I egg washed the strips and sprinkled them with a little coarse salt. The pie baked for a full 35 minutes before it was set and browned to my liking. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Love this recipe! I follow it nearly exactly expect for not adding bacon and sometimes using milk instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
We just finished eating this for supper with corn on the cob, it was super good! I didn't use bacon because we didn't have any. Funny thing is that without even saying anything, my husband said it would have been even better if I put some bacon in... So note to self: make sure to add the bacon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Disodo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I see I'm the only one whose tart came out a bit too watery. I think I used onions that were too large, and next time, I would saute them longer - perhaps caramelize them. It did taste great, though! Good with steaks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Had this in France ~16 years ago. I didn't like onions then... I had a second helping. I wanted to introduce my wife to it (now that I've come to my senses on onions). This seems to be the closest recipe to what I recall. Was easy to cook and quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Great guideline recipe... I used 4 medium vidalias, 1 cup of half & half, generous amounts of salt, pepper, a splash of aged balsamic and a bit (like 2 teaspoons) of brown sugar, nutmeg as recommended, and thinly sliced bits of 1 precooked sausage. It generously filled 1 deep dish crust. This dish was delicious-- savory and sweet at the same time and very moist and filling. Thank you Nadine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reciprocipe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This was amazing. My super picky 12 year old daughter loved it and even my 2 year old ate a piece. I don't think I could fit 5 onions in one pie shell though since Idaho has some really big onions so I made 2 pies instead. It keeps really well in the fridge for about a week if you have any left overs. Overall, this is just an amazing recipe and I can't wait to make it for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This Onion Tart turned out great! It was very smooth and contrary to some other reviewers, was not too oniony. I only used 4 white onions, used regular pie crusts (not deep dish), and had enough batter for almost 2 tarts. I would suggest trying 1 deep dish pie crust and hopefully everything will fit in it. Also, I made one batch with the bacon, one without. It turned out much better without the bacon. Based on my research, bacon is not used in many other traditional onion tart recipes. Lastly, I did not have nutmeg so I used McCormick's Allspice. This addition really made the difference and would suggest using it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by em's gems

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This is amazing. It's a little much for a weekday dinner but I can't wait to make it for friends! I used a HUGE Vidalia onion and 3 little yellow onions, and next time it will be all Vidalias; they add the best flavor. I loved the addition of the nutmeg, it really gives it a special something. Thanks for a super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
We liked this, but each one of us thought something about it could be improved! One didn't care for the bacon with the onions, one thought it needed more herbs to flavor it, one thought we should use fewer onions, etc! I put this into a whole wheat pie crust, and I used soy milk instead of milk and cream. This might be great for a brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States