Tartar Sauce IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
The perfect compliment to frozen, bland, breaded fish pattys (our dinner). It really gave the fish sandwiches we had a nice zing! I did have a fresh lemon on hand, which really added to the taste. I also scaled the recipe down to 10 servings, a great plenty if you only need it for one meal. Bratwurst, Potato and Cabbage Soup, from the allrecipes website, rounded out a decent, inexpensive, easy, and tasty dinner at our house tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Exactly what I was looking for. I've never had store bought tartar sauce, I always just mixed dill relish with mayo. I wanted to find something with a little more complex flavor. Family loved it. I will definatly keep using this recipe. Scaled recipe way down and used dill relish instead of chopping a pickle. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
This tartar sauce is so easy to make. We don't eat fish very often, so I scaled the recipe down to 10 servings and we ate it all in one night. I made it just minutes before I served it-- it was tasty even without letting all the flavors blend. I love the kick the lemon adds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIDSUMMERMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
This Tartar Sauce was awesome! I will keep it for sure. You can 1/2 or 1/4 this recipe very easily. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2cook

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
I scaled down the recipe, easily, to four servings. It was wonderful! I even used "light" mayo to make it healthier. Tasted very similiar to Captain D's Tartar sauce! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
I just add a few less onions, this is the best tartar sauce I have ever tried. My husband loves it also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
SImple and PERFECT! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Yummy!!!Scaled to 2.5, used sweet relish (my fav for everything) and oinion powder b/c I dont keep onions on hand. The oinion powder made it b/c I kept adding until I got the tartar sauce taste I was looking for (like LJS or Capt. D's). Delish!!! I will NEVER again buy tartar sauce. And, it doesn't have to sit, just eat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
Excellent, I made no changes and this was exactly what I was looking for. After only two hours the flavors had already come together. Now I know I can always have great tartar sauce with very little notice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This was awesome. I do not like tartar with sweet pickles...This was perfect. I scaled down to 4 servings, seeing I am the only one in my house that will eat it, but it was great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Tartar Sauce

Delicious homemade sauce with just four ingredients.

Tartar Sauce I

Homemade tartar sauce is perfect for dipping fried fish.

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States