Tartar Sauce IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
I scaled down the recipe, easily, to four servings. It was wonderful! I even used "light" mayo to make it healthier. Tasted very similiar to Captain D's Tartar sauce! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I hate the stuff, but hubby loves it. Unfortunately for him since he doesn't eat it enough, I never buy it. He was delighted when I found this recipe. The great thing is...everything you need is probably already in your pantry. The only thing I did differently was to use dill relish (instead of chopping up the pickles). He said it was really good and he liked being able to have his tartar sauce. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Oh Boy. I was so excited to try this, but for some reason it came out so terrible... I had to ask my husband to help me "fix" it :-( I really couldn't even begin to guess what to do to repair the damage. Part of the problem I think was that I used the All Recipes calculator to reduce the serving amount to 6, and somehow, the amount of Mayo seemed incorrect. My husband added about a heaped teaspoon of dijon mustard, and about a half a teaspoon of freshly ground black pepper. It wasn't perfect, but it at least made it palatable. I will retry this one using a larger amount of servings,and see if it changes the results any. Unfortunately I can't give this one a good rating right now :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I was out of tartar sauce and had never had home made. This is better than anything I can get at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This is super quick and easy. I usually mix it up when I put the fish and chips in the oven. It's great with a dash of cayenne pepper added in too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
I of course scaled this recipe down as I didn't need a quart, and I found the onions to be overwhelming, there were just to many. I added some pepper as well. Almost like the other recipe I use, but just too many onions. Thanks Marlene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Exactly what I was looking for. I've never had store bought tartar sauce, I always just mixed dill relish with mayo. I wanted to find something with a little more complex flavor. Family loved it. I will definatly keep using this recipe. Scaled recipe way down and used dill relish instead of chopping a pickle. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
The perfect compliment to frozen, bland, breaded fish pattys (our dinner). It really gave the fish sandwiches we had a nice zing! I did have a fresh lemon on hand, which really added to the taste. I also scaled the recipe down to 10 servings, a great plenty if you only need it for one meal. Bratwurst, Potato and Cabbage Soup, from the allrecipes website, rounded out a decent, inexpensive, easy, and tasty dinner at our house tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This was awesome. I do not like tartar with sweet pickles...This was perfect. I scaled down to 4 servings, seeing I am the only one in my house that will eat it, but it was great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
fantastic....., my family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tartar Sauce I

Homemade tartar sauce is perfect for dipping fried fish.

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Cheesy Broccoli Puffs with Sriracha Sauce

Bring your holiday party to life with delicious bite-size appetizers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States