Tartar Sauce IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This portion is good for a good ole southern fish fry. I make it using the dill relish and I also add some garlic powder. We use it for fish sticks as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This was wonderfull! The only change I made was that I grated the onion instead of using diced, and that was only so that the people who don't like onion wouldn't see it in the sauce. It was great and I will use this from now on. Blows bottled sauces out of the water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
My husband, the tartar sauce critic, made this sauce last night and loved it. We have been looking for a good recipe for years. I think the onion is what makes the difference. We did not have any lemon or dill pickles, so used dill relish and a little of the relish liquid. It was great. Be sure to finely dice the onions and let the mixture sit for a while so the flavors meld. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Good, but it's important to drain the pickles, and the recipe doesn't mention that. Bf whipped this up tonight bc he wanted fish sticks and we don't have tartar sauce in the house. He used bread and butter pickles only bc that's what we have in the fridge--I much prefer dill pickles and think they'd be awesome. We used minced dried onion bc raw onion isn't our thing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
OMG!! I have finally found it. I love Captain D's tartar sauce. Now I can make my own!!. I made this recipe by dividing every ingredient in half! It is perfect! I also chopped the onion super fine. I can't even tell they are in there except that the flavor is PERFECT!! Try Schwan's batter crisp cod and you have a perfect meal. THANKS ALLRECIPES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I made Tartar Sauce I the other day and gave it five stars even tho I made some changes. Now today looking at other recipes (because I'm going to make it again) I found that the changes I made match this recipe almost exactly. So anyway, this recipe is a hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This is very easy to scale down. I used tangy dill pickle relish so I didn't have to chop pickles. I left out the onion and added a couple of twists of freshly ground pepper. Easy to make and tastes better than anything I've ever bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I did not know this was easy to make. It was great. I will probably not buy tartar sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I personally don't eat Tartar Sauce, but my husband and daughter said that it was really good. So I will deffinately use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tizzylizz
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
If you have the ingred. on hand much fresher and better then the jarred stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tartar Sauce I

Homemade tartar sauce is perfect for dipping fried fish.

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States