Tartar Sauce III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Great basic recipe. First time making tartar sauce and am very pleased with results! Fish coming out of oven in about 10 minutes and we're looking forward to slathering with this delicious sauce! No more store bought tartar sauce for us. Next time maybe I'll try the dill or other ingredients other reviewers suggested. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: South Gate, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Good basic tartar sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I forgot to buy tartar sauce at the store so I decided to look up a recipe and OMG this is delicious!! I added minced garlic, some dill and lemon juice and some tony cachares creole seasoning and it was the best tartar sauce I've ever tasted! no more store bought for my family. Just wonder how long it stays good for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
GREAT base recipe. One of my FAV sauces for fish you can only get at (rhymes with) RACKER FARREL.....Can I say C.B.? Don't want any lawyers knockin' on my door. ;-) MINE turned out just like that. I added about 2? tsp. lemon juice and chopped up my own sweet pickles and used shallot's and a some dill and 2 pinches of salt and some fresh cracked pepper. I know, I know but all I needed was a good base recipe. SO...bottom line I will use this again and can't WAIT to cook my fish tonight. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nov111805

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Delicious, and even when I cut the recipe in half, there was more than enough for one meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was surprisingly easy, I guess I had never really thought about what makes tartar sauce until I ran out last minute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camsmith89

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Excellent, better than store bought. Slapped it together as the tilapia fish sticks were coming from oven. Used low-fat mayo and a squeeze of fresh lemon. My picky husband loved it so will make again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wonky Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This is by far the best tartar sauce. I halved the recipe but prepared as written. The only thing I changed was to add 1 TBSP chopped capers. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I liked this recipe because it was basic. That being said, I altered the recipe slightly after tasting it the first time. I added finely chopped garlic dill pickles in addition to the sweet pickle relish, about 1/8 cup worth. I also added fresh and dried dill - probably about 1/2 tsp worth. The dill really made this taste even better. I also added a splash of lemon juice for some zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kimberley, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Quick and easy - just as the submitter states! It's also very good and a life saver when you realize you're out of tartar sauce! It's also much better so I don't think I'll be getting the store bought stuff anymore. I cut the recipe in half and used Hellman's light mayo combined with a bit of light sour cream to make it a little creamier along with some finely chopped green onion as it's very mild. All it needed was a bit of dill to punch it up. It was perfect over beer battered fish filet sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Tartar Sauce

Delicious homemade sauce with just four ingredients.

Tartar Sauce I

Homemade tartar sauce is perfect for dipping fried fish.

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States