Tartar Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I wanted to love this recipe, but should've gone with my instincts (and some of the reviews of others) and used dill pickles instead. I am not a sweet pickle fan, so guess that was my fault! :-) Next time, I will use dill pickles and some pickle juice instead of the lemon juice. Also loved the suggestions of turmeric and some dill! While this recipe was okay, I definitely plan to make it again, only with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Way too mayonaissey for me. And bland. Had to zing it up with various items, which makes it another tartar sauce entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Really surprised at how good this simple recipe tasted! Threw it together in a split second and adjusted the recipe to make less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Followed this recipe to the letter, with no substitution, and is absolutely the best tasting tartar sauce our family enjoyed with our deep fried fish dinner last night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Wonderful recipe, the only thing I added was cream of tarter. About 1 tsp. I will never use another recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
this tartar sauce is great and easy. this is exactly what i was looking for .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Very good and very easy. I also added a tsp of horseradish for a bit of extra kick. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was an easy and excellent tartar sauce. The key is the lemon juice, as I was making basically the same thing without it. WE are a dill family, but since that is just a preference, the recipe still deserves five stars. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Going to a catfish fry on Sat. and I was asked to bring the tarter sauce. This turned out very good as I just tasted after being chilled 24 hrs. Only change I made was adding about 7-8 mashed capers instead of salt and I doubled the pepper to 1 1/2 tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I like this recipe I have used it multiple times for a really good fried fish recipe I have. I normally dont eat tartar sauce cause I dont like mayonnaise, but this was very good. I love the onion in it, and I put a little extra lemon juice and pickles in it for my own personal time. This tartar sauce has gone in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Farahkm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tartar Sauce I

Homemade tartar sauce is perfect for dipping fried fish.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Chef John's Remoulade 2.0

Not just for fish sticks anymore! This easy ‘tarter sauce’ is super versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States