Tarragon-Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Very easy and tasty. I was hesitant to use 2 T of tarragon, but it tasted wonderful that way. Everyone seemed to love it. Tasted better the next day. I changed it slightly - I added a bit of garlic, used russet potatoes, and rice instead of barley. A squeeze of lemon juice and dash of hot sauce upon serving brightened it up. Will probably make it again, considering it uses simple ingredients I usually have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This was so delicious! I was a little worried because I'm usually not crazy about tarragon. I only made it because I had some quick cook barley on hand that I wanted to use up. Wow! the flavors mingled beautifully without any overpowering flavor of tarragon that I have disliked in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was nice for me. It froze well, and I was able to thaw out and take to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I made this soup for a group of horseback riders. I added rice instead on barley and everyone LOVED it. I'm a bit of a picky eater and it was sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Very tasty and simple. I had ground chicken on-hand, and it turned out just fine. I froze half the batch, and it was even better the second time around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Most recipes I find on this site need modified slightly. Not this one. It is perfect as is. Kids loved it. Husband loved it. In our family, that is a true Christmas miracle!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
SOOOO good! My 1 yr old, 5 yr old, and husband loved it. I used leftover turkey meat from thanksgiving meal and turkey broth I'd made from the turkey carcass. Also I used cooked brown rice instead of barley. It tasted a little off in the end and it took a while to figure out what was missing... garlic powder made it PERFECT so next time I'll do crushed garlic with the onions and green peppers. Amazing! So good and so good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This was great! I halved the recipe but used the full pound of meat to please my other half. I only had regular barley, so I precooked it and added it at the end. I did let it simmer a bit longer than the recipe states, to give my bread time to finish baking. Thanks for a great recipe! UPDATE: I did freeze a serving of this, and once thawed it tasted great! Almost better than the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
To my family, this soup seemed a little weak and thin. It needed more flavor, and I had to add orzo just so everyone felt like they were getting a real meal. The tarragon added an interesting flavor though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFINDANCER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was really good, and I have been hoping to find a unique recipe for ground turkey. We really enjoyed this soup. We didn't modify it much, we used 1/4c regular barley and 1/2c orzo (my husband loves orzo in soup). Oh ya I also added garlic. The flavor was great and it was warm & satisfying for a chilly night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States