Tarragon-Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Great rainy day springtime soup!! Thank you! Added a can of northern beans, brown rice, two cloves of garlic, and 32 more fl oz of broth. It made a lot for just me and my wife. I thought i would have some to freeze but it's almost gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
We all really enjoyed this recipe. I had lots of leftover turkey from Christmas, so I cut that up and used it in place of the ground turkey. I didn't have barley, so I used regular white rice and it was quite yummy. I also added a couple of sweet potatoes, cubed. Made the soup very colorful and tasty. Easy and delicious. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This recipe was delicious and easy. I did substitute the barley with rice, and the whole family really liked it (and for once the leftovers didn't go in the trash!) I did use a full pound of turkey, but think that the next time I make it, it will be with country style ground pork instead (less healthy, more tasty!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
this is one of the most flavorful soups I have ever made! I've used this recipe for a while now and still love it! The tarragon is a perfect compliment to the turkey and veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Loved it on a cold winter's night after Christmas. I used leftover turkey breast instead of ground turkey, brown rice instead of barley and a half bag of frozen (microwaved first) mixed veggies. Was yummy with my grandma's recipe for (no sugar added) white corn meal cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by small

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
My husband and I love this soup recipe. So much that today I decided to join AllRecipes ! This is the third time I made this soup. Like most others, I added a few more ingredients/spices. I added 2 cloves of fresh garlic to the turkey mixture. I also added about a pinch poultry seasoning, ground blk pepper & Herbs De Provence & sea salt. After adding the chicken broth I also added in about 1 stalk of chopped celery. I used small russet potatos which I peeled and diced. And finally I used 1 bag of brown Success rice, which I added once the soup had started to boil. Seasoned w/ small amount of sea salt & pepper if needed and done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This came out pretty good, but I think it would be even better with leftover turkey instead of ground turkey (but then again, I'm just not a fan of ground meats in soups). I probably doubled the onion, added two cloves of garlic and used my homemade vegetable stock. I hate when I'm rolling through a recipe only to find I'm missing key ingredients, but subbing sweet potato for red potato worked beautifully, and instead of barley I had about 1/2 cup of red lentils to use up. Love the tarragon aroma and flavor - used the full 2 tbsp and it was perfect. Can't wait for the next turkey dinner so I can try this with chopped cooked turkey instead of ground!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Just so-so. I love tarragon so I thought it would be really tasty. Probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margo Barron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Didn't have barley. But I added some chopped up Chard that I had on hand, and it tasted pretty good nonetheless. Oh, I didn't add bell peppers either (don't really like 'em).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silverlining

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Interesting combination of flavors, but something tastes a bit off. There's almost a metallic aftertaste, which is disappointing. I probably won't make this again, unless it all comes together after sitting overnight and being reheated (as other reviewers have said it has). The potential is there for this soup to be an amazing "comfort food", but this aftertaste is killing me right now. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States