Tarragon Mushroom Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This really hit the spot! Easy and tasty and filling - what more can you ask for? I made minor changes - left out the garlic powder and I cooked it in a cast iron soup pot on the stove on low for about 2 hours. Served over orzo and topped with shaved parmesan. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
My family really liked this dish. I did not thicken the sauce, but I think I will next time. Thanks for the great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Would have liked more seasoning. Added a clove of garlic to the mix, but it was still too bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Very easy to prepare. Followed the recipe as written except used fresh tarragon. Everyone said it was yummy! We served it with rice. Will keep this recipe on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I'm giving this 4 stars for the sauce....with my modifications it was better. 3 stars for the chicken itself. my chicken was pretty tough so next time I think i'll just make the sauce and bake it. Somethings just seem to suffer when in the slowcooker while others shine. I used fresh mushrooms and a chopped onion. I'm not sure it really needed the butter. I also upped the tarragon to closer to 3 tsp. I didn't thicken the sauce either...but just because it didn't seem worth the trouble at the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Very much like a chicken stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This was a very good recipe. I doubled the sauce and added onions, carrots, and broccoli to the bottom of teh crockpot before adding the chicken so my vegetables would be done with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Husband, 4-year-old and I all ate this willingly. I used sherry, and my only criticism is that the sherry taste was a little too strong. Next time I will try half sherry and half chicken broth instead. I did follow a previous reviewer's recommendation of taking the lid off for the last hour to skip Step 2, and it worked out just fine. We ate it over linguine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Very good! I added 2 small cans of mushrooms and it was perfect! I think it would go well with artichokes too... Thickened the liquid with cornstarch then put a piece of chicken over some rigatoni then poured the sauce on top. Thanks! Will definitely make this again maybe with a little less sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This was SO EASY to make. I was worried the tarragon would overpower the dish, as that was all I could smell while it was cooking, but it turned out just right. I was also worried using canned soup it would taste like preservatives but it was OK. I used FRESH MUSHROOMS, why wouldn't you? About 7 to 8 large and would increase that next time. I used frozen chicken breast so did the crock pot for 5 hours on high and then took the lid off for the last hour to reduce the water (from frozen chicken) a bit. Then for the sauce I did not have to boil it, it was thick enough already. I will definitely make this again. SO EASY. I also used some cheap brandy, 1/4 cup instead of sherry and could not really taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States