Tarragon Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
We are a mayo-free household, so this recipe was perfect. Since my husband detests celery, I substituted green bell pepper for the celery. I also used garlic salt and Greek yogurt. I served it on buttered, toasted sourdough and it was the tastiest dinner we've had in while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Great recipe. No heaviness of mayo and great blend of flavors. It's become my favorite thing to bring to picnics and parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This was excellent. I did a couple things different to this recipe. I added a diced plum tomato and fresh tarragon and omitted the nuts. I used Greek yogurt and a little mayo for the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Crawford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Perri Pender
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I have to admit, I did not use the yogurt, or sour cream I did Mayo it needed something I added celery seed and some stone ground mustard and felt it took it up a notch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
YUM! I made this recipe orginally to add to green salads for the guys in my house. I wanted them to get some good protein and since they are all trying to diet, I figured this one would fit the bill. I'm happy to say it did beautifully. While they all liked it in the salad, they also said they would prefer it on a sandwhich. Since I doubled the recipe, I tried that the next day, and 2 of my sons really, REALLY liked it this way too. Winner all around, and I will make this again and again. Thanks for the recipe. UPDATE: My sons are still asking for this, so I know it's a winner. I kick up the tarragon just a bit just because I love tarragon. Again, thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Delicious! This was a great way to use up some left over chicken I had. I cut the celery back to one cup and since I didn't have low-fat plain yogurt on hand I subbed low fat mayo. I added some fresh lemon juice and a bit of dijon mustard along with some parsley. (similar to Tarragon Tuna Salad from this site). I left out the almonds and let this set in the fridge for a couple hours to let the flavors blend. Great on toasted whole grain bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Great salad. I tried it with fresh tarragon and used the juice of half a lemon to give it a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This chicken salad is a great base for someone who has an afliction to mayo. I added everything in this recipe, but instead of almonds, i added pecans cuz thats what i had. I also added a tspn of mayo to my yogurt and sour creAM for a light tangy flavor w/o actually overpowering it with mayo. I also added freshly ground black pepper and dash or two of onion powder, and i used fresh tarragon and dried chives cuz thats all i had onhand. As a person who loves chicken salad but alot of times it either tastes too chickeny or too mayoey, this one is perfect and delicious! Screw the deli, i will make this from now on! I also didnt measure any of my ingredianets except for the yogurt/mayo/sourcream mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
ANOTHER GREAT RECIPE!!! Staff members loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keyla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This was really very good. I enjoyed the tarragon and chives a lot - nice spin to an old classic. I also sometimes finely chop a red pepper and throw that in, too. Delicious. I've tried it with tuna as well, and while it works, it's definitely better with the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States