Tarragon Beef Stew with Vermouth Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I always read the reviews before trying, and I found that everyone said there was way too much liquid. Instead of reducing the water, I added more potato and carrots, and also added finely chopped kale, and sauteed onions and celery. The kale was for extra nutrients, and the sauteed onions and celery because...well it's just good! The stew turned out fabulous! The kale wasn't noticeable (for those of you who aren't kale fans) and the onion and celery complimented the tarragon. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
A nice stew with a tangy, slightly sweet flavor. I had to substitute seasoned vinegar for the the Worcestershire sauce because my husband is allergic to fish. I also omitted the water and boiled the stew with the lid off for most of the cooking time, as other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This was an excellent stew, but I'm not giving it 5 stars because after reading other reviewers, I did not use the water called for, I used only the honey, not the sugar, and I used a fruity wine since I didn't have any vermouth. I look forward to trying it with vermouth as called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Amazing flavor! Didn't add the water and used dry vermouth instead- still had a really great slightly sweet and savory flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This is the best throw-it-together beef stew. This is consistently great with so little effort. Like others, I omitted all the liquid except for the vermouth. Used dry vermouth. Used only the honey to sweeten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowersinfrance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antelope Valley, California, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I had the pleasure of preparing this with Elk meat which is higly recommended, but nonetheless, the results were superb! As per reccommendation, I ommitted the mass amounts of water and as I do with all soup recipes I substituted a portion of the broth for an herbal tea as to reduce salt and add some other nutrients - turned out delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
We used half a cup of whiskey instead of the vermouth and hoo boy! Smelled knockout and tasted fab, once the alcohol had boiled off. We added in a little powdered vegie stock for flavour, and swapped all the sugar for honey. As out whiskey wasn't sweet we ended up adding another big spoonful of honey in. Also we omitted all the extra water and added in barley to make this stew extra thick and hearty. Worked really well and I'm itching to try it with the vermouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Smells FANTASTIC cooking and tasted amazing! I didn't read the reviews before started this cooking - but I allowed it to cook the entire time with the lid off - and I added 3/4 cup brown rice for the last half hour and it was perfect consistency! Another note, I didn't have any honey because I'd used it all for a loaf a bread I was cooking at the same time (doh!) so I just used 2 tsp of sugar. It was a bit sweet - and next time I do this, I'll use only 1 tsp. I'll also half the water and use only 6c of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Angus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Adam
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This stew has an amazing smell and taste to it!!! I did omit a good amount of liquids due to reading the prior reviews, which I think helped make this recipe a success. I will be making this again sometime in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Aarhus, Midtjylland, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Yum! Great flavor! I also left out the extra water. I didn't have tarragon but I added a small onion and there was plenty of flavor. I also cooked in the crock pot and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States