Tara's Sweet and Chunky Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
My mouth watered when I read the recipe but I didn't quite have the right ingredients on hand. So, I used a fresh cooked chicken breast [I buy bone-in breasts on sale; cook them up; remove the skin and debone them; freeze them in separate sandwich bags and put into one big freezer bag]; Miracle Whip Light, dill pickle relish [easier than cutting up pickles anyway!]and the onion. I didn't have sunflower seeds, but did have a trail mix called "Cranberries and More" that I use for a salad topping. I just chopped it up a little finer. It was WONDERFUL! The second time I added celery and a hard boiled egg and red seedless grapes cut in half. The third time I added chopped red onion too. I CRAVE this salad! It is truly the best chicken salad I've ever eaten! Thanks TARA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANNYFARKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This is very yummy, though I used halved red grapes instead of the cranberries as it was what I had on hand & diced chicken pieces in place of the canned because I don't like canned meat. I also added chopped celery for extra crunch and a light sprinkle of garlic powder. The filling was delicious stuffed in a pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mezo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Holy moly, this was great! I didn't have sunflower seeds so used slivered almonds, and I was out of onion. The dried cranberries ARE the secret ingredient...and this is absolutely heavenly on oatnut bread with a couple slices of Swiss cheese. I'm glad I have some more...it's tomorrow's lunch! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Thanks, Tara! This is a clean, refreshing chicken salad. I used left over chicken thighs (chopped bite size), a little more mayo (eyeball it to your liking), 1/2 t. dried dill weed, 1/3 c. chopped vidalia onion, 1/3 c. chopped pecans, 1/4 c. chopped celery, and 1/3 c. craisins. I agree this could be the "kitchen sink" or "garbage" chicken salad, but Tara's basics make it incredible! This would go over well at BBQ's and gal pal luncheons! Next time I will try canned chicken (Buy one, get one free) and dill relish. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
yummy yummy left out the seeds added more cranberries and pickle relish delightful sandwich for the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tenafly, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cairo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
This was very good but it definately needs more mayo. I doubled the amount of mayo. I also used sweet pickles instead of dill and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This was so good. i will be making this one again and again. i wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
It's a great way to use leftover chicken. I served it over a bed of spinach and sprinkled a crunchy almond salad topping on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I nabbed this recipe over 2 years ago and i thought I'd say it has officially been added to our rotation. We like to eat it on a bun with lettuce, or wrapped in a lettuce leaf is pretty delicious, too. I always make it as is unless I am out of something, then I substitute. It's delectable either way. I like it served with cabbage and Jimmy's pineapple cole slaw dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I just love this chicken salad!! It is great on croissants or eaten in a bowl like a salad. A few things I changed because of what I had on hand. Instead of the canned chunk chicken, I just use regular boiled chicken that I chop into pieces. Also, instead of sunflower seeds, I have used browned almond slivers. Don't forget to add some salt and pepper (to taste) since the chicken won't have any seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Holiday Chicken Salad

The cranberries provide the seasonal punch to this tasty salad.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States