Tar Heel Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This is very good. To make it fantastic...it needs a different crust. Pie crust just doesn't do it for me. I used a shortbread crust: 1 cup of butter, half a cup of powdered sugar and 2 cups of flour. Mix it all together and put into a 9x13 pan and pat it out onto the bottom and up the sides. It will be soft. DO NOT PRE BAKE THE CRUST. Double the ingredients for the filling. Pour it into the crust and bake it for 45 minutes at the 350 temp. This is so ooey gooey good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Just tried this in my 8X11 glass pan and made these into bars. Pie crust made using same portions as a nine inch deep dish pie. Since the filling completely covers the crust, I bake the crust about 15 minutes first. I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and used sliced almonds instead of pecans. Lastly, I subtracted about 10 minutes from bake time. So easy and so delicious! You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
This a a great pie, like a recipe I used to have from the Pisgah View Guest Ranch in North Carolina. I send this pie with campers because it's firm and packs well and provides lots of energy. Because I'm cheap I use peanuts instead of pecans and sometimes I add a 1/2 cup of peanut butter for a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I really enjoyed this pie. I did use margarine instead of butter--it was all I had and I just didn't want to wait! I used a combination of milk and semisweet chocolate chips in the filling. At 40 minutes I thought it was way too gooey, but I didn't want to bake over the suggested time so I took it out against my better judgment. I didn't enjoy it at first, but by the next morning it had firmed up while still maintaining just the right amount of gooeyness. I microwave a sliver for 15 seconds and serve it with a scoop of ice cream--it's heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Palm Desert, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Excellent! As others suggested, i baked this in an 8x11 glass pan and used the short bread crust recipe. It turned out perfect! I also did not have any coconut on hand so left it out and threw in a few crushed walnuts... it was great with those changes too! I served it right out of the oven and it was way too hot, so let it cool slightly before serving. I didn't have any ice cream nor whipping cream when I first served it and it does need one or the other! i liked it cold the next day as well... great recipe, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEWELJETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Oh my gosh............do you like chocolate? Do you like German Chocolate Cake? If you answered yes to either of these questions, this is the pie for you. Made it for a friends birthday and we ate it while the center was still warm and gooey. It was oh so good. Even my husband who doesn't care for coconut liked this pie. It is very rich and a thin slice will go far. We thought it goes best with a cold, tall glass of milk. Definitely will make this again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Yummy! It is VERY rich so I agree with the person who submitted this recipe--small slices are advised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Excellent, I made this pie yesterday for Thanksgiving, and i followed the recipe as it is and it came out beautiful, it's delicious. Don't change anything on the recipe its just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megandme
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Way too sweet and rich for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gotspunk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I'm pretty tough with recipes and only keep ones that make me gush, and this was one of them! It was sooo good. I am a brownie-lover so this was fantastic for me! One thing I would prefer is a little more solidity; it was runny even baked at 45 minutes. I think I will pop it in the fridge next time for a little bit, or even add 1-2 extra eggs so that it holds a bit of form while still remaining fudgy. However, my other brownie-loving friend said it was perfect as is, because it was like eating raw brownie dough. I served it with vanilla ice cream. It was fabulous! I will definitely make this again, and that says a lot as I have tried MANY recipes that were good, but just not good enough to remain in my recipe box. Props to the chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrissyCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States