Tar Heel Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This was so delicious, easy and most definitely satisfied our chocolate cravings! I didn't have any pecans so I just tossed in some toffee chips because I figured "what the heck?" and just like other reviews, use a shortbread crust. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
An easy hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
My be-lated BIL used to make this but called it something else ( Japonease Fruit pie of all things). I Lost the recipe. But THIS IS IT!! So decadant and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This pie is amazing!! I made it once and plan to make it again for Easter. Everyone who tasted it groaned with pleasure at their first taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This is the recipe I keep coming back to look up. I don't know how many times I've typed in "tar heel pie." I don't bother with a pie crust, and I definitely undercook it. Then instead of eating small pieces as suggested, I go ahead and eat the whole thing. It is so freaking good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This is a 5-star recipe just as it stands. It could be a 10-star recipe with just one change, and that change is personal preference: Cut back on the coconut! I made this for our 4th of July picnic and every member of my family agreed this would be super-fabulous if made with less coconut. Next time I will cut the amount to 1/4 cup. My daughter's favorite "pie" I make is the Tollhouse Pie which is very similar to a Kentucky Derby Pie and she said I could quit making that and make this Tar Heel Pie instead. We all loved it - with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Made it without the coconut, it was wonderful. My husband doesn't like pie, and ate about 1/2 of it. We will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasadchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
VERY VERY rich....good but too sweet for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Fantastic. Everyone liked it, even the coconut haters said it was great. I used another reviewer's crust recipe cut in half (so it was 1/2 cup butter, 1/4 cup powdered sugar, and 1 cup flour) for a single 9 in pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I brought this cake in to share at a party, and everyone loved it! It turned out more like a brownie than a pie, but I am okay with that! I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alohagal287

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States