Tar Heel Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
It's like a big brownie baked in a pie shell! This is one you definitely want to serve topped with either Cool Whip or vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Awesome! Just like a rich, gooey brownie, and the recipe doubles perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I would have given this 10 stars if I could have. I haven't had that good of a dessert in a long time. I didn't have coconut and it still came out very well. So so so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This is delicious! Chewy-yummy-licious! My family loved it. If you love chocolate, this is the pie for you. Goes great with a cup of coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flowerdiva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
quick and delicious. small slice? hardly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Outrageous! Everyone who tasted it said, "Oh my God." I think next time I will try it with walnut pieces to cut down on the cost. What about using a chocolate graham cracker crust? Maybe it would be a cocoa overdose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
A very good, rich brownie-like pie. I would suggest serving it with vanilla ice cream to cut down on the richness. Also, letting the pie cool for ~30 min just so it can set. Very good-Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
love it, everyone loved it. I made mine underdone in the middle like the submitter suggested, and it turned out great. A must try dessert for anyone that hasn't yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
This a a great pie, like a recipe I used to have from the Pisgah View Guest Ranch in North Carolina. I send this pie with campers because it's firm and packs well and provides lots of energy. Because I'm cheap I use peanuts instead of pecans and sometimes I add a 1/2 cup of peanut butter for a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
This was a very good dessert, yet it was extremely rich. Intensely chocolatey, chewy texture -- you definitely need something like ice cream or homemade whipped cream to cut the sweetness down. I couldn't even finish one regular sized piece... (and I ALWAYS finish desserts!) My husband said it best: "You like it, yet... it's oppressive!" I would consider making this again when I really need a chocolate fix. It would DEFINITELY take care of it! Thanks for the new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETTHING111

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States