Tar Heel Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was very good! I baked it for 40 minutes and it set wonderfully. I'll be saving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hubbardston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Very good. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Just tried this in my 8X11 glass pan and made these into bars. Pie crust made using same portions as a nine inch deep dish pie. Since the filling completely covers the crust, I bake the crust about 15 minutes first. I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and used sliced almonds instead of pecans. Lastly, I subtracted about 10 minutes from bake time. So easy and so delicious! You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
OMG!!! I never had anything like it in my life, and just figured that since I had the ingredients on hand, I'd give it shot. WOW! It will now be THE pie when I make dessert. Thanks sooo much for a quick and delicious recipe! 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
There will be no left overs from this recipe! Excellent and very easy. Enjoy and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynCocks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This is a killer pie -- literally, but possibly worth every calorie. I made it as written but added about a half teaspoon of cinnamon, which we liked. It's also super easy. It will be hard to even consider baking any other kind of pie after this. Thank you, GRAYJETMAN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEP47

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This was a very good, rich pie. I took it to a cookout and everyone flipped for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This was GREAT! Says 12 servings, we only had 5 HUGE servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I really enjoyed this pie. I did use margarine instead of butter--it was all I had and I just didn't want to wait! I used a combination of milk and semisweet chocolate chips in the filling. At 40 minutes I thought it was way too gooey, but I didn't want to bake over the suggested time so I took it out against my better judgment. I didn't enjoy it at first, but by the next morning it had firmed up while still maintaining just the right amount of gooeyness. I microwave a sliver for 15 seconds and serve it with a scoop of ice cream--it's heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Palm Desert, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
as a native North Carolinian, I'm making this my signature pie. It was wonderful! I was really proud to serve this at a dinner party. Everyone loved it. I started out with small slices, but nearly everyone wanted a second piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mineola, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States