Tar Heel Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Yummy, made as directed and turned out great. It really does taste like a brownie inside a pie crust. I used a frozen pie crust since I had one on hand. I cooked it for 45 minutes since I am using a Japanese convection/microwave all in one ovenn and tends to take longer anyway. Even our guest commented on how good it was. I served either whipped cream or ice cream on top. Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I usually don't like it when people change a recipe without atleast trying it once. That being said, I made a lower carb version of this and it was awesome! I used almond meal instead of flour and splenda instead of sugar (i did use some brown sugar) and it turned out very much like a brownie. Now, I gave the recipe 5 stars because had I made it per the instructions-come on, its chocolate so you know its good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micsulli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Made this Thanksgiving, along with several other pie choices, and it was the first to go! Great combination of ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This recipe was great..EXTREMELY sweet..but overall a good pie. I was relcutant to add the coconut but it added a great flavor and texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This is very good. To make it fantastic...it needs a different crust. Pie crust just doesn't do it for me. I used a shortbread crust: 1 cup of butter, half a cup of powdered sugar and 2 cups of flour. Mix it all together and put into a 9x13 pan and pat it out onto the bottom and up the sides. It will be soft. DO NOT PRE BAKE THE CRUST. Double the ingredients for the filling. Pour it into the crust and bake it for 45 minutes at the 350 temp. This is so ooey gooey good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Whew, I’m salivating just thinking about this pie. I made it over the weekend and it was fantastic! So much for trying to loose a pound or two this year with recipes like these around, ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OStreetGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I made this last night for company... it is delicious! I used walnuts instead of pecans. It is very rich but thoroughly enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I had to try this one... I love chocolate! Love every ingredient used to make this. The consistency was closest to a moist in the center brownie. I just thought that the recipe was missing something in the presentation aspect. I sprinkled some powdered sugar and cocoa powder and that helped quite a bit. It is different but it is also very good and very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
WOW! Tar it is. Too sweet, to rich to busy in the pie. Thanks for the receipe though. It was interesting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Wow!! This was so very good! I made as directed and came out perfectly. I put in refridge and served the next day. Topped with heavy whipping cream after warming for 15 seconds in microwave. Definitely will make again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DCJ131

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States