Tar Heel Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
We really enjoyed this pie. I used walnuts because that's what I had on hand. We didn't have any vanilla ice cream, but I'm sure that would have been so good! Instead, we heated it in the microwave for about 10 seconds and ate it that way. So good! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.RalstoninGA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Waco, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This was so delicious, easy and most definitely satisfied our chocolate cravings! I didn't have any pecans so I just tossed in some toffee chips because I figured "what the heck?" and just like other reviews, use a shortbread crust. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
An easy hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
My be-lated BIL used to make this but called it something else ( Japonease Fruit pie of all things). I Lost the recipe. But THIS IS IT!! So decadant and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This pie is amazing!! I made it once and plan to make it again for Easter. Everyone who tasted it groaned with pleasure at their first taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This is the recipe I keep coming back to look up. I don't know how many times I've typed in "tar heel pie." I don't bother with a pie crust, and I definitely undercook it. Then instead of eating small pieces as suggested, I go ahead and eat the whole thing. It is so freaking good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This is a 5-star recipe just as it stands. It could be a 10-star recipe with just one change, and that change is personal preference: Cut back on the coconut! I made this for our 4th of July picnic and every member of my family agreed this would be super-fabulous if made with less coconut. Next time I will cut the amount to 1/4 cup. My daughter's favorite "pie" I make is the Tollhouse Pie which is very similar to a Kentucky Derby Pie and she said I could quit making that and make this Tar Heel Pie instead. We all loved it - with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Made it without the coconut, it was wonderful. My husband doesn't like pie, and ate about 1/2 of it. We will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasadchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
VERY VERY rich....good but too sweet for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Fantastic. Everyone liked it, even the coconut haters said it was great. I used another reviewer's crust recipe cut in half (so it was 1/2 cup butter, 1/4 cup powdered sugar, and 1 cup flour) for a single 9 in pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States