Tar Heel Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I made two of these, one with pecans and one without. They were both very soft, even after baking a little extra time and leaving them covered on the counter overnight. Because they were so soft and gooey, they didn't slice pretty, it was more like scooping it out. Next time I will probably cook them an extra 10-15 minutes and refrigerate them overnight. But the pies are absolutely delicious!! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I love brownies so my wife was trying to find something similar to make for our anniversary. I am not a fan of coconut but I still liked it. My wife served it with a scoop of ice cream which just made it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
We really enjoyed this pie. I used walnuts because that's what I had on hand. We didn't have any vanilla ice cream, but I'm sure that would have been so good! Instead, we heated it in the microwave for about 10 seconds and ate it that way. So good! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.RalstoninGA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Waco, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This was so delicious, easy and most definitely satisfied our chocolate cravings! I didn't have any pecans so I just tossed in some toffee chips because I figured "what the heck?" and just like other reviews, use a shortbread crust. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
An easy hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
My be-lated BIL used to make this but called it something else ( Japonease Fruit pie of all things). I Lost the recipe. But THIS IS IT!! So decadant and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This pie is amazing!! I made it once and plan to make it again for Easter. Everyone who tasted it groaned with pleasure at their first taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This is the recipe I keep coming back to look up. I don't know how many times I've typed in "tar heel pie." I don't bother with a pie crust, and I definitely undercook it. Then instead of eating small pieces as suggested, I go ahead and eat the whole thing. It is so freaking good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This is a 5-star recipe just as it stands. It could be a 10-star recipe with just one change, and that change is personal preference: Cut back on the coconut! I made this for our 4th of July picnic and every member of my family agreed this would be super-fabulous if made with less coconut. Next time I will cut the amount to 1/4 cup. My daughter's favorite "pie" I make is the Tollhouse Pie which is very similar to a Kentucky Derby Pie and she said I could quit making that and make this Tar Heel Pie instead. We all loved it - with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Made it without the coconut, it was wonderful. My husband doesn't like pie, and ate about 1/2 of it. We will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasadchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States