Taqueria Style Tacos - Carne Asada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2004
This is like Mobil 1 !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
Turned out well, but took too long to make. Start to finish, it was about 2.5 hours. Plenty of leftovers which will keep 'till it's gone. This is a good one for bachelors who like to cook. Not so good if you don't want to spend much time in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
Mmm, mmm good. For as much work as this recipe calls for it's simple and fast. The flank steak was delicious. The onion/cilantro relish was good. But no one cared much for the roasted veggie salsa. I think that it was too spicy for some and too toasted/roasted for others. I would make this again but just the steak (and probably use a cheaper piece of meat too) and intead of the relish and roasted salsa I think just a regular fresh salsa would be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
Thanks for this excellent recipe. It certainly is a lot of work, but the flavour is worth it. You really can't eat these fast enough - straight off the grill is best. If you wish to save time, use bottled taqueria sauce or taco sauce and skip steps 3 and 4. It's also a good way to serve up a roast that's not as tender as you would like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
I didn't make the salsa or relish but the marinade was delicious. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
One of the best recipes around. The marinade alone deserves five stars, I use it on everything, it is exceptional on shrimp and chicken. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
I go to Mexico every year to visit my dad's family. I love to eat food from the taquerias, and have longed for a great recipe that will even come close to the amazing meats they serve. This is the one!! I have never tasted anything so close to the real thing. If you want to try real Mexican food, your quest has ended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATIECHILE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
Great! I have to agree with the other reviewers. If you want to save time, use store bought salsa. Use skirt steak (tenderized) instead of flank. Grilling it is the only way to go -(I finished it off on a skillet though). Meat has to be marinated for a while - 1 hour is too short. I recommend at least 8 hours. Cilantro, onion, the corn tortillas, and the cajeta cheese is a perfect combination with this! Muy bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
This recipe is fantastic! Authentic and deliceous! Everybody loves it - young and old. Lots of work, but worth every minute. I did replace the roasted veggie puree with salsa on a camping trip and it was quite enjoyable, but for the "real deal" take the time and do it right. And don't be afraid to marinade overnight! Thank you Stanicks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
its as good as it gets
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 724) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States