Taqueria Style Tacos - Carne Asada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
First off- the golden star of the night- the salsa was superb. I had guests over and they were hovering around the salsa, leaving for a few seconds, and coming back again. I roasted sweet Vidalias as the white onions, vine tomatoes (not plum)- left seeds in- didn't make a difference and I hate seeds- just for specifics. The carne asada mix seemed really good, but it was not as powerful as I wanted it to be- not garlicky enough? The meat was marinated for over 8 hours, but it just didn't develop the type of aggressive, meaty flavor I expected, especially from using the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coqui

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Best tacos ever! Forgot the jalapeno and couldn't find the dried New Mexico chile pods, but it was still awesome. Flank steak is still on sale, so we're going to buy more and make this again with the jalepeno. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
These tacos rock! All the flavors work well together. I used goat cheese instead and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I think this is an excellant marinade for beef. The only thing i did different was made the spices ti 1 1/2 times the amount and added the zest of one line. I marinated some top sirloin staeks i needed to cook for 2 days and grilled it to medium and sliced it in thin slices and ate it on flour tortillas. This tome i am going to marinate a tri tip roast for three days and roast it and slice thin. I love this marinade and will be using it quite often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I marinaded our steak for 8 hours and grilled the meat. We all agreed it was flavorful. I didn't have enough time to make the relish, but used fresh salsa from the store. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
clearly the best carne asada you can make at home Awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dhadley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Delta, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe. The marinade is great as-is, sometimes I do add some orange juice too. I use skirt steak (it's generally cheaper at my store) and it turns out awesome. One thing that I do, is cook the meat in SEVERAL small batches. It gives each piece a nice char. Great recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by John
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
id suggest using two tortillas for each taco :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I used the first two recipes (Carne and relish), and my husband and I couldn't get enough!! I had some venison in my freezer so I used that rather than flank steak, and we had flour tortillas but those were the only deviations. The flavor is perfect and can be made spicier if preferred which is great because my husband likes things spicier than I do. I'm making it again tomorrow with flank steak and corn tortillas. Be sure to get lots of limes because that (in my opinion) is what ties it all together. I used my Braun hand mixer which made the combining of ingredients a lot faster than the whisk. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This tasted amazing! However I didn't use the cilantro lime juice and onion relish. It didn't need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 732) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States