Taqueria Style Tacos - Carne Asada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Delish!!! This is the best Carne Asada recipe I have ever tried and I have tried many. I only did the marinade part but added the onions cilantro and lime to the marinade and everyone loved these tacos!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
These were GREAT made with carne asada!! they have a wonderful flavor and the “relish" is really, really good. The paste... not so much; it lacked good flavor and gave the tacos a mushy "feel." Luckily it was an add-on that could be left off. I will definitely fix these again and would recommend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC Daddio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
First of all I don't understand why it matters if you are Mexican or not when you try this recipe? Do you think all white people can make a good hamburder or fried chicken? Second, you must know Mexican food is different is Ca. Az. Nm. and Tx. So I don't care about your location, because I grew up in Ca. and now live in Az. And I prefer Ca. Mexican food much more. As for the recipe, I think it is great the way it is, it is a matter of opinion and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
used this just for the marinade and it came out so incredibly good.. i used Cook4mycrew's advice for the soy and lemon amount, but didn't change the vinegar.. didn't have white pepper so doubled the black.. super tasty.. ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This was absolutely excellent. I used the marinade and the roasted veg salsa. I had to spice up the salsa as I found it pretty bland. Added some chili powder and cumin along with salt and pepper. The only change I made to the marinade was no salt...there is plenty in the soy to go around. The meat was awesome...served with the roasted veg salsa, guacmole, little sour cream and valentino hot sauce....perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Meat had a great flavor. Sliced after cooking to preserve the juices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Don't let the reviewers scare you! This is really good. Of course I am from Indiana so I can't speak for authentic Mexican recipes, but if you are looking for a good flank steak recipe or steak taco recipe this is really good! Most reviews I read couldn't believe there was soy sauce in this but I made it as is and it tastes great! We made the relish but used regular salsa and shredded cheddar jack, sour cream and jalapeno peppers, and flour tortillas. Mexican rice and re-fried beans on the side-yum:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Second time was the charm. I had some white pepper this time and we keep the reduced sodium soy sauce around. I ran the marinade through the Vita Mix before added the doubled recipe to six pounds of flap meat. It soaked for around five hours, last hour or more out of the fridge. Cut the salt if you use regular soy sauce. I will probably cut out half of the salt next time. It was right at the edge, anymore salt would have been too much. Be prepared for smoke off the grill with the oil on the meat. We have made the skirt steak/ flap meat tacos many times but this batch was the tenderest and least dry batch ever. I used more Jalapenos in the sauce but gutted them to reduce heat. More flavor less heat. We made additional salsa which was the final touch to finish them off. Puya chilies prepared the same way the New Mexico Chilies are prepared, then added to cooked Tomatillos and roasted garlic or raw your choice. The Vita mix grinds it up nicely, and cilantro is a nice choice, but you already have cilantro, onion, and lime mix. Chili Arbol if you want a little heat. This sauce really made the flavor great. The sauce will be dark red to orange if you have used enough chilies. Be sure to thoroughly cook Tomatillos before grinding the sauce. You may prefer the Puya Tomatillos sauce. My neighbor from Mexico introduced me to this sauce. They would use the stone bowl and pestel to grind the chilies. Vita Mix is easier but it makes the sauce less chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
we loved this best iv ever made couple alterations but fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I only tried the marinade part for the steak but it is my absolute new favorite way to make tacos! Absolutely delicious steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 722) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States