Taqueria Style Tacos - Carne Asada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
TURNED OUT GREAT! USED ROUND STEAK AND POUNDED IT VERY THIN. MARINTATED OVERNIGHT, COOKED ON GRILL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This is hands down the best carne asada ever! Our friends rave about it. I live in a small town with no less than 15 authentic Mexican food restaruants... they need this recipe because none of them make anything close to this good!!! We are staying home for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I absolutely loved this recipe! Tons of flavor, even if you don't marinate the meat for a long time. I added more garlic (since I grow my own) and less soy sauce (too salty). No white pepper, just coarse grind black pepper. With fresh guacamole and tomatoes from the garden, it's taco heaven! Even my guy (who is not a big fan of Mexican food) thought this was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashlara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I used a pork butt roast instead of flank or skirt steak. I doubled the amount of marinade for my 3.5 lb roast, but only used single amount of olive oil. Marinated 2-3 hours in a ziplock bag, turning every 30+ minutes. I then placed the roast pieces in a dutch oven. Using a can of beef broth & half the left over marinade, I poured this over the roast in the dutch oven. After 4 hours in a 285 degree oven, the roast shredded to perfection and was muy delicioso in our tacos! Will make burritos tonight with the left overs or BBQ beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
This recipe is GREAT. I didn't change ingredients at all. I mixed the dry spices together and used them like a rub. Let the meat sit overnight and then added the liquids like a marinade early in the morning. Grill outside to sear and then wrap in foil and bake low(250) for 3 hrs. The meat is so tender this way. Love it! Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Great, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corte Madera, California, USA
Living In: Westport, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I LOVE this recipe. Going to make it a second time now but since I am trying to cook some meals in advance and freeze them, would this be something I could freeze after cooking?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Hands down delicious! This is one dish that is "comfort food" for me, and my husbands loves it. Win-Win. I marinate the veal skirt steak (very thin) for 2 days in the spice rub. BBQ it until it really done. Yummmmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This recipe is outstanding! I've used it 3 times now (once with chicken strips) and every time it draws raves from my family, both kids and wife. Flavor, flavor, flavor all the way on this marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
It's very nice to see Mexico's tacos are starting to get close to authentic recipes shared on the internet. Almost a decade ago after my first trip to Mexico City in 04, I came home thinking about nothing but the tacos.... Everything else was easy enough, onions check, cilantro check, corn tortillas check, fresh made salsa verde check (or the hot red salsa if you prefer) limes check, salt check, glass bottle coca cola check, but could't find a marinade recipe to save my life at the time. Even trying to google queries translated to spanish gave me nothing to work with. I was living in a heavily hispanic populated area of my city, the "Mexican-American" people that I talked to either had no clue how to marinate and season pork or beef to get an authentic Mexican taco meat, or just didn't want to let the desperate pale German in on their culture's secret recipes! Now there is a lot more on the internet written on how to season & marinate, thank god. A good taco recipe? yes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 734) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States