Taqueria Style Tacos - Carne Asada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Good recipe, wouldn't say its authentic taqueria style though. My family still really enjoys it. I'm more of a plain jane no spice type of eater and it's got a little bit of a kick for me but still tasty. Definitely worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I thought I made the best Carne Asada until I had these , just great ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I really liked this marinade but it was screaming to be revised in order to deliver authentic Mexican flavor! So, here's what I did. I added a few tablespoons of tequila and doubled the lime (4 limes instead of two). I also used a mild/medium Mexican chili spice blend instead of regular chili and this seemed to make a big difference. Extra dried oregano as well. And a few dashes of liquid smoke (optional). Post-alternations, it worked really well and the beef that we marinated this in was tender and had a wonderful flavor with a hint of tequila. Because it was not too spicy, our three year old enjoyed it as well but if you like heat, add more chili. Chipotle would give it a nice smoky flavor but it is a very very hot chili so be take it easy. Next time, I will cut the soy sauce in half and see how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Made a few small changes and this was ABSOLUTELY phenomenal!!! Replaced ONLY ONE of the limes for the marinade with one orange - so instead of two limes, one each lime and orange. Let it marinate for about 4 hours and cooked on high to mid-rare, strained the meat from the pan and let it rest on a cutting board. Also roasted the tomatoes etc for about 35 minutes rather than 20 as they didn't seem ready. Lastly - and this one is an ABSOLUTE MUST, especially as a healthy alternative to the carbs that come with flour - nstead of soft shell tortillas, I used fresh Romaine lettuce spears as a shell. It gets a little messy so grab a few napkins and just get after it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Cook the meat down until all the liquid is gone...the meat will be great this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
YUM! Marinate for at least 24 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This is amazing! My family can't get enough of this dish. I don't even want to go out for Mexican food anymore. Just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Delicious! I used the marinade to create Carne Asada quesadillas and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
If I could give this recipe 20 STARS... I would!! My favorite tacos de asada are from Tijuana. These are my #2.... They were on the salty side. I will be making them this weekend... This will be my third time making them. I an going to try the sodium free sit sauce as suggested by previous comments. I'll be using half reg./half sodium free. I have only made them on the grill outside. I wouldn't dare to make them on the stove too. Eww
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
OMG..Awesomeness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 738) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States