Taqueria Style Tacos - Carne Asada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This marinade is amazing! To keep it simple I didn't actually follow the rest of the instructions, so my rating isn't entirely fair. But I figured there might be other folks who just want to keep it simple sometimes. I marinaded for 8 hours or so and then grilled the meat and cut into chunks for tacos. So yummy! I also halved the marinade since I only had about 1 1/2 lbs of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
It was wonderful. I skipped the topping and we grilled it, but it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This is a fabulous recipe. I doubled everything because I was feeding a crowd. People loved it and there was nothing left at the end of the night. Don't worry about the soy-sauce--it actually adds a bit of rich tangyness to the flavour of the meat. In fact, I didn't have enough soy-sauce, so I added a few tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce and it gave it the meat even more depth. I let the meat marinate in the fridge for 8 hours, drained the marinade and boiled it down a bit. After that, I put the meat and the reduced marinade into a slow cooker for another 8 hours. At the end of the 8 hours I took everything out, drained the meat from the liquid (there's a lot!) and then shredded the beef. It was tender and extremely flavourful. The way I did it was time-consuming but not difficult. I didn't make the salsa featured in this receipe--just made a simple pico de gallo salsa instead. I'm definitely going to be making this recipe again and will give the salsa a shot next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Delicious. Just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
AMAZING! Have made many times. Always a hit. Marinate overnight. Definitely make the lime, onion, cilantro relish. Serve with good quality pico de gallo, sliced avocados, the lime onion relish, and a chipotle sour cream sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ckrey83
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I only made the marinade in this recipe. The carne asada came out very tasty! My family really liked this. It's kind of a lot of ingredients and a little time consuming putting it all together but, it was well worth it. The flavor was great. Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckrey83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
OMG this is delicious!!! I followed exactly except marinaded for 24 hrs overnight. Used 3.5 lbs of meat and it made 10 large fajitas (2 per person) Served with green peppers and onions sautéed with cumin, garlic powder and chili powder. and then fresh chopped onions and cilantro, etc. Grilled for about 12-14 min on low (after wiping down meat with paper towel before putting on grill to reduce flare ups). Amazing - would be great serving with some homemade chimmichuri sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
We have made this recipe so many times, I can't even count anymore! This is AWESOME! I do the marinade and give instructions to everyone to "poke the meat" with a fork and turn it over every time you pass it until grilling time. Then its my son's job to be the grill master. One important thing to remember about flank steak is to not over-grill it. a little rare-ish is better. Then chop it in small cubes for the tacos. My husband loves the fact that he can kick back with a cerveza and watch the magic happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Everything about the actual marinade and meat was delicious. Except the corn tortillas. Awful mistake. Should have stuck with flour ones. They were so dry that we ended up just piling the meat and other items on a plate and eating it plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Yummy! And I agree, not difficult at all. A definite repeater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 759) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States