Taqueria Style Tacos - Carne Asada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
We're thinking about opening a taco stand with this recipe....ha ha! Seriously, this recipe was the best! We used our own salsa though - and grilled the steak on the BBQ, finished it off in a pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
ABSOLUTELY WONDERFULL!! I live in San Diego and often go to Mexico to eat street tacos-and these are them. Take you time to make the roasted pepper salsa, because regular salsa on this taco is an abomination :) The onion relish plus the roasted pepper salsa compliment this dish, and make it authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
I didn't follow this exactly, but I did do a number of things from this recipe. Here's what I did: I used a thinly sliced meat that you find in the market instead of the flank steak. I also then didn't use any of the wet ingredients, except using the lime juice at some point during the cooking, and just used the dry ones as a rub on it (basically, the ingredients from salt down to paprika in the first set). I cooked it in a pan on the stove, sliced it small, and put it in corn tortillas and topped it off with white onion, cilantro, and a little hot sauce. It was spectacular. I didn't follow it exactly, but I got something wonderful out of it. Would highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Finger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
Fantastic! I did a few things differently, to suit our tastes: left out the onion relish; used chipotle peppers in adobe sauce in place of the chile pods; used a can of pre-diced hot jalapenos; added about 4 large cloves of garlic to the roasted vegetables. We also used flour tortillas instead of corn. Also, I used my food sealer to seal the meat and marinade in a jar, and marinated it for about 4 hours. The best part (other than the super-hot sauce, thanks to my jalapeno choice) was the cotija cheese - what a delicious surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Excellent!. I'll make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
My wife loved this recipe...worth the work and time. For a hotter salsa, I used 5 dry chile de arbol (found in your mexican aisle) instead of the NM chile pods. Used guacamole and black beans to accent the tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
This is awesome!! We fixed it for a few friends and now we are the talk of the neighborhood :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Came back from mexico and wanted to find something similar to the Arrachera beef we were eating. This was great, and we continued to eat it even after stuffing ourselves. We have used it with fajitas and tonight i am going to marinade a tritip roast in it. Yum Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
These were really good but the flavor seemed to be just a little too strong, I think next time I will use a little less vinegar. I did make the salsa and thought it was ok but I will probably stick with mine. But all in all I will definetely make again just tweek it to our taste a little more. It really does look harder than it is though and will definetely impress guest. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
I made this for a last minute get together. Everyone loved it. Take the time to make the roasted pepper sauce and onion salsa. Its worth it. I didn't use the NM chili pods because I couldn't find them but used habenero and jalapeno instead. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 723) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States