Taqueria Style Tacos - Carne Asada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is my go-to steak taco recipe. We use round steak and it doesn't matter if the steak marinates for an hour or overnight--the flavor is great every time! This is the one meal where I can be sure there won't be any leftovers. Love the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This recipe is delicious! Followed the marinade as written (minus the white pepper since we didn't not have this) and it was a hit! Next time I might cook the meat whole before cutting, but my family lived it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I only had time to make the meat and it was to DIE FOR! Didn't have limes so I added a couple turns of lemon pepper. Marinated it for about 2 hours. Can't wait to make it with the other stuff! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I make this meal in the crockpot. I omit the oil and tripple the marinade recipe, and use a beef roast (any cut is perfectly fine). I let it cook on low until it is tender enough to shred (flipping every few hours if the roast isn't covered), and then I put the meat back in with the juices for another hour or 2. This is WONDERFUL!!! it tastes just like the Carne Asada you would get at an authentic taco stand! We make it all the time! The first time I made it we were stationed in Germany, and the store didnt have any of the chili's or the right kind of cheese, so instead I just make a simple onion and tomato salsa, and we use regular shredded cheese. Now that we are back in the states, I am hoping to try the other parts to this recipe as well, but I am still having a hard time finding the other ingredients (we're in a small town, but until then, my family is more than happy having it the way we usually do. If your in doubt, I urge you to try this recipe! I promise it won't be the last time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This was excellent! I used Braggs liquid aminos instead of the soy sauce, and marinated it overnight. Even my picky boyfriend love it, & said the recipe was a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Waterville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
It's not bad, I guess. I thought it was a lot of effort, the cheese was overpowering, and the sauce was not very distinctive. I'll stick to my local taco truck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
This is pretty good! I definitely overcooked the beef, though that is my fault in taking the idea of waiting until "most of the liquid has evaporated" too literally. Everything tasted dark--a little pico de gallo brightened it up. Would happily make again, but won't be dying to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
TURNED OUT GREAT! USED ROUND STEAK AND POUNDED IT VERY THIN. MARINTATED OVERNIGHT, COOKED ON GRILL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This is hands down the best carne asada ever! Our friends rave about it. I live in a small town with no less than 15 authentic Mexican food restaruants... they need this recipe because none of them make anything close to this good!!! We are staying home for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I absolutely loved this recipe! Tons of flavor, even if you don't marinate the meat for a long time. I added more garlic (since I grow my own) and less soy sauce (too salty). No white pepper, just coarse grind black pepper. With fresh guacamole and tomatoes from the garden, it's taco heaven! Even my guy (who is not a big fan of Mexican food) thought this was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashlara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 741) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States