Taqueria Style Tacos - Carne Asada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I thought I made the best Carne Asada until I had these , just great ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I really liked this marinade but it was screaming to be revised in order to deliver authentic Mexican flavor! So, here's what I did. I added a few tablespoons of tequila and doubled the lime (4 limes instead of two). I also used a mild/medium Mexican chili spice blend instead of regular chili and this seemed to make a big difference. Extra dried oregano as well. And a few dashes of liquid smoke (optional). Post-alternations, it worked really well and the beef that we marinated this in was tender and had a wonderful flavor with a hint of tequila. Because it was not too spicy, our three year old enjoyed it as well but if you like heat, add more chili. Chipotle would give it a nice smoky flavor but it is a very very hot chili so be take it easy. Next time, I will cut the soy sauce in half and see how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Made a few small changes and this was ABSOLUTELY phenomenal!!! Replaced ONLY ONE of the limes for the marinade with one orange - so instead of two limes, one each lime and orange. Let it marinate for about 4 hours and cooked on high to mid-rare, strained the meat from the pan and let it rest on a cutting board. Also roasted the tomatoes etc for about 35 minutes rather than 20 as they didn't seem ready. Lastly - and this one is an ABSOLUTE MUST, especially as a healthy alternative to the carbs that come with flour - nstead of soft shell tortillas, I used fresh Romaine lettuce spears as a shell. It gets a little messy so grab a few napkins and just get after it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Cook the meat down until all the liquid is gone...the meat will be great this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
YUM! Marinate for at least 24 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This is amazing! My family can't get enough of this dish. I don't even want to go out for Mexican food anymore. Just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Delicious! I used the marinade to create Carne Asada quesadillas and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
If I could give this recipe 20 STARS... I would!! My favorite tacos de asada are from Tijuana. These are my #2.... They were on the salty side. I will be making them this weekend... This will be my third time making them. I an going to try the sodium free sit sauce as suggested by previous comments. I'll be using half reg./half sodium free. I have only made them on the grill outside. I wouldn't dare to make them on the stove too. Eww
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
OMG..Awesomeness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Left in one piece and broiled it since I didn't want to get the grill out in all the snow. Fabulous! Can't wait to make it again over some coals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 727) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States