Taqueria Style Tacos - Carne Asada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
i love this recipe and i have been using it for 5 years. but i can not get the the salsa to turn out right... i know what it is supposed to look like because i grew up on taco truck! mine is dark and like a paste. i have tried putting more water i have tried putting more tomatoes please help any suggestions appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turlock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Not bad! I've had my eye on this recipe for a while, but the seemingly lengthy prep involved kept me at bay. To my pleasant surprise, I discovered that this comes together rather quickly if you make this in steps (so don't let the marinating, toasting, blending and chopping scare you away!). Although tasty, I really do wish I would have used flap or skirt steak tho.... I was hoping for a taco similar to my local taqueria's beef tacos, but this was only slightly like theirs. HOWEVER, leftover meat was the BEST part of this recipe (and was the makings of SUPER yummy empanadas)!!! While I'm not sure I'd make these tacos again, the meat / marinade is a winner in my book. Thanks for sharing, STANICKS. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I really like this recipe!! I am a Los Angeles native, and have moved to Pennsylvania in recent years. I live in a small town where a good Mexican restaurant is referred to as Taco Bell. (I couldn't believe that's the only thing they have here!!) Not one, single Mexican restaurant. When I first made this, I fell on love. Whenever I make it my friends seem to show up hungry. Never fails. We all love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Love the marinade! I added the flank steak to the marinade before work and grilled it when I got home. It had great flavor! I used another salsa to cut down on time, but next time I will definitely try that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Great taco's! Everyone loved them, didn't have time to make the salsa, but will next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I made this in the crock pot and I absolutely loved it! Definitely on my favorites list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This was ruined by the soy sauce. Apparently it's way too much and overpowered everything, giving the meat a slightly sweet taste. The salsa was ok, although a little too spicy for my taste. That could have something to do with the size of the peppers. And it needs more than a "pinch" of salt. I put in about a teaspoon and it was edible. I wouldn't make this again. Next time I'll make it with salt, pepper, and garlic on the meat, served with pico de gallo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
1st time making this, but certainly won't be the last. AMAZING recipe, it was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This was the best marinade and easy preparation, too! Every bit of it got devoured by my guests. My only variation was that the dried chili pods were unavailable in my area for the roasted vegetable salsa so I used chopped, fresh Anaheim chilies instead. Still came out wonderful. Can't wait to try it again when I can get the dried chili pods. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Good recipe, wouldn't say its authentic taqueria style though. My family still really enjoys it. I'm more of a plain jane no spice type of eater and it's got a little bit of a kick for me but still tasty. Definitely worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 727) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States