Taqueria Style Tacos - Carne Asada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I made this in the crock pot and I absolutely loved it! Definitely on my favorites list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This was ruined by the soy sauce. Apparently it's way too much and overpowered everything, giving the meat a slightly sweet taste. The salsa was ok, although a little too spicy for my taste. That could have something to do with the size of the peppers. And it needs more than a "pinch" of salt. I put in about a teaspoon and it was edible. I wouldn't make this again. Next time I'll make it with salt, pepper, and garlic on the meat, served with pico de gallo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
1st time making this, but certainly won't be the last. AMAZING recipe, it was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This was the best marinade and easy preparation, too! Every bit of it got devoured by my guests. My only variation was that the dried chili pods were unavailable in my area for the roasted vegetable salsa so I used chopped, fresh Anaheim chilies instead. Still came out wonderful. Can't wait to try it again when I can get the dried chili pods. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Good recipe, wouldn't say its authentic taqueria style though. My family still really enjoys it. I'm more of a plain jane no spice type of eater and it's got a little bit of a kick for me but still tasty. Definitely worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I thought I made the best Carne Asada until I had these , just great ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I really liked this marinade but it was screaming to be revised in order to deliver authentic Mexican flavor! So, here's what I did. I added a few tablespoons of tequila and doubled the lime (4 limes instead of two). I also used a mild/medium Mexican chili spice blend instead of regular chili and this seemed to make a big difference. Extra dried oregano as well. And a few dashes of liquid smoke (optional). Post-alternations, it worked really well and the beef that we marinated this in was tender and had a wonderful flavor with a hint of tequila. Because it was not too spicy, our three year old enjoyed it as well but if you like heat, add more chili. Chipotle would give it a nice smoky flavor but it is a very very hot chili so be take it easy. Next time, I will cut the soy sauce in half and see how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Made a few small changes and this was ABSOLUTELY phenomenal!!! Replaced ONLY ONE of the limes for the marinade with one orange - so instead of two limes, one each lime and orange. Let it marinate for about 4 hours and cooked on high to mid-rare, strained the meat from the pan and let it rest on a cutting board. Also roasted the tomatoes etc for about 35 minutes rather than 20 as they didn't seem ready. Lastly - and this one is an ABSOLUTE MUST, especially as a healthy alternative to the carbs that come with flour - nstead of soft shell tortillas, I used fresh Romaine lettuce spears as a shell. It gets a little messy so grab a few napkins and just get after it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Cook the meat down until all the liquid is gone...the meat will be great this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
YUM! Marinate for at least 24 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 722) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States