Taqueria Style Tacos - Carne Asada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I used a pork butt roast instead of flank or skirt steak. I doubled the amount of marinade for my 3.5 lb roast, but only used single amount of olive oil. Marinated 2-3 hours in a ziplock bag, turning every 30+ minutes. I then placed the roast pieces in a dutch oven. Using a can of beef broth & half the left over marinade, I poured this over the roast in the dutch oven. After 4 hours in a 285 degree oven, the roast shredded to perfection and was muy delicioso in our tacos! Will make burritos tonight with the left overs or BBQ beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
This recipe is GREAT. I didn't change ingredients at all. I mixed the dry spices together and used them like a rub. Let the meat sit overnight and then added the liquids like a marinade early in the morning. Grill outside to sear and then wrap in foil and bake low(250) for 3 hrs. The meat is so tender this way. Love it! Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Great, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corte Madera, California, USA
Living In: Westport, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I LOVE this recipe. Going to make it a second time now but since I am trying to cook some meals in advance and freeze them, would this be something I could freeze after cooking?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Hands down delicious! This is one dish that is "comfort food" for me, and my husbands loves it. Win-Win. I marinate the veal skirt steak (very thin) for 2 days in the spice rub. BBQ it until it really done. Yummmmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This recipe is outstanding! I've used it 3 times now (once with chicken strips) and every time it draws raves from my family, both kids and wife. Flavor, flavor, flavor all the way on this marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
It's very nice to see Mexico's tacos are starting to get close to authentic recipes shared on the internet. Almost a decade ago after my first trip to Mexico City in 04, I came home thinking about nothing but the tacos.... Everything else was easy enough, onions check, cilantro check, corn tortillas check, fresh made salsa verde check (or the hot red salsa if you prefer) limes check, salt check, glass bottle coca cola check, but could't find a marinade recipe to save my life at the time. Even trying to google queries translated to spanish gave me nothing to work with. I was living in a heavily hispanic populated area of my city, the "Mexican-American" people that I talked to either had no clue how to marinate and season pork or beef to get an authentic Mexican taco meat, or just didn't want to let the desperate pale German in on their culture's secret recipes! Now there is a lot more on the internet written on how to season & marinate, thank god. A good taco recipe? yes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Fantastic! I made this for supper club and am not even there yet...i hope this meat makes it over there without me eating it all. I did the suggested edits of decreasing the vinegar and doing the half/half soy sauce. I accidentally added the juice of two limes when I was following the edit of using orange and lemon juice. But, it has a really great flavor, a little strong on the citrus side (my fault). I do think this tastes like some of the tacos I've had from the taco truck. I also made the onion/cilantro/lime side which I have not tried as I cannot eat raw onion, and I made the roasted veg salsa. My edit: I BBQ'd the veggies. I chopped the tomato, left the garlic whole, quartered onion as directed, but sliced the jalapenos down the middle and only deseeded one of them. I left some of the seeds in the New Mexico chilis and my first taste of this is HOT! I love it! I will no longer be buying the salsa taquera from Herdez...it is that good. (Ok, I'm lying, I love the salsa taquera) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Tried it and loved it! Can't wait to try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
OMG. This is the recipe I was looking for. Did everything exact. I marinated for 4 hrs. Cooked to medium ish. Sliced and let my guests do their thing. Everyone loved it. This is now my go to recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roblin, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 741) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States