Taqueria Style Tacos - Carne Asada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Followed the marinade as written and it was EXACTLY what I wanted to eat! Cooked the meat on the BBQ grill and served with fresh guacamole, fresh pico and a lime cilantro rice. Loved these so much, can't wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Quite bland and not worth the time and effort to put into it. I tried a different recipe that was less time consuming and a lot more tasty. I thought with the extra ingredients that this recipe would be even better but instead it was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Perfect as is do not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Great blend of dry spices in this recipe. I use them to flavor just about any meat when I want a Mexican flavor, e.g. ground beef, pork, chicken, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I love this recipe. I once had the cantina taco at Taco Bell when they were serving it and of course was not very impressed, but felt it COULD be a great recipe if done correctly. This recipe is almost perfect in my opinion. I did do a few here and theres and it turned out great. Like a lot of users I substituted the flank steak for a higher grade meat and opted to use a sirloin. Marinated the steak for a couple of hours in the sauce, but added some fresh oregano, parsley, ginger, and Worcestershire sauce. After the marinade was done I cooked it correctly on the grill (room temp, seared, flip once, let stand 10 mins before cutting) instead of in a pan. I felt the whole meal was great, but lacked a little crunch. It was mostly soft mush, tiny crunch from the onion, and a firm bite from the steak. To fix this I thought for a while and decided to try a vinegar based slaw to give it that bite. It worked wonderfully as the vinegar worked well with the marinade and gave it a little more substance. Seriously after I did this I was shocked how well it tasted. Don't forget the limes on the side to drizzle each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mknight5888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I've been looking for a good carne asada recipe for years, this is THE BEST! I was worried for a little while while it was cooking, but just let the liquid cook down and you get this great thickened sauce that coats it and just shredds in your mouth, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Good, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgattis
Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I fought every bone in my body to do this just as posted but I broke down and bought good sirloin and seared it then slow grilled it.. Really quite fantastic!.. I did an 8 hour marinade on about 3/4" thick sirloin. My grill has a searing plate (about 60 seconds per side) then slow cooked them 25 minutes or so on low heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This was one of my first attempts at tacos. I loved the roasted tomato, onion, garlic and jalepeno sauce! The marinade in this recipe made the meat very flavorful, however I am trying to nail the taste of real, authentic Tijuana-style tacos. Every recipe I've tried so far overdoes the marinade. The marinade should give the meat a little bit of zing, IMO, but if you overdo it you will overpower the charbroiled beef flavor. Let the condiments give the tacos their tangy zip. If anyone has a recipe that more closely resembles the authentic Tijuana style I'd love to try it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmooveTaste

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Have made this recipe just once before but it turned out wonderful. I am making it tonight in the crock pot to simmer in the marinade's flavor. The onion relish is a nice twist. I didnt make the salsa last time--seemed like a little too much work. Tonight we will try it with the cojita cheese too! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 727) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States