Taqueria Style Tacos - Carne Asada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Awesome tacos. Sneaking bits from the pot I thouht this was a good but not great recipe, but in a corn tortilla with all the trimmings these are just like what I get from my favorite restaurant. I followed the meat to the letter, but did not make the salsa or onion topping. I will undoubtedly make again, thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I came across this recipe for Carne Asada for our Cinco de Mayo Party. On a whim, I followed the adjustments that Cook4mycrew suggested (using the skirt steak/"flap steak" from Costco.) We let it marinate overnight and threw it on the grill as guests started to arrive. This was easily as good as the best Carne Asada I have had in restaurants, or that friends have picked up pre-marinated from the Mexican markets. Since we had fewer guests than we anticipated, we didn't cook all of it. We briefly thought about freezing it and bringing it to a potluck next weekend, but then we decided it was so good we wanted to keep the rest to ourselves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I followed the recipe as closely as I could. I had tenderloin tips available for the meat so I used it. Before cooking, I pounded the meat down to 1/4" then cooked it to medium on a hot, oiled, griddle. After the pieces were cooked I sliced them into bite size slices. Next time I make these, and it will be soon, I plan on splitting the relish and adding diced tomato to half of it. The roasted vegetable sauce was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Nelson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This was a delicious meal. I made it last night and my family loved it. Especially my husband. The roasted veggie puree was delicious and so easy to make. I wanted to use the puree like a salsa and dip chips into it but I didn't have any. Next time. This may be my new salsa recipe as well as taco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Gulgren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Really good. Made these for a few neighbors and the adults and kids ate them up! A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This is fantastic! We make this all the time! Very flavorful and gets rave comments from guests as well. We slice up the flank steak into 1" strips before we marinade it. The accompanying tomato/onion relish is very tasty, too. A time-saving tip is to make a larger amount of the dry ingredients and save it. We also slice a LARGE amount of flank steak at once, place into Ziploc bags a freeze. The meat marinades as it freezes and as it thaws. Great to have at the ready since this is so popular at our house. Making it for Cinco de Mayo as always!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I only used this recipe for the meat marinade, I did not make the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Followed the marinade as written and it was EXACTLY what I wanted to eat! Cooked the meat on the BBQ grill and served with fresh guacamole, fresh pico and a lime cilantro rice. Loved these so much, can't wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Quite bland and not worth the time and effort to put into it. I tried a different recipe that was less time consuming and a lot more tasty. I thought with the extra ingredients that this recipe would be even better but instead it was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Perfect as is do not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 724) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States