Tapioca Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
My husband made this and I thought it turned out really well. He used instant tapioca, minute rice and whole milk. The raisins plump up really nice in this recipe. I'd have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
An easy and fast recipe. It tasted as wonderful as it smelled. This was also a great dessert for my daughter who has severe celiac disease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This was a great start to what I had made. I made a few changes. I used quick tapioca pudding (4tbsp), 3 cups of vanilla almond milk, since I can't have dairy, and substituted the sugar for 1/4 cup maple syrup. Cooked it on the stove top as per the quick tapioca instructions. Turned out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This recipe is good. Came out fine, with a nice old-fashioned flavor and texture. NOTE to those who had poor results: DO NOT use "instant" tapioca or rice! You must use the old-fashioned, long-cooking types or your results will be nothing like it is supposed to turn out. Those who followed the ingredients exactly had a wonderful result so you may want to give it another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERMYROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This was ok. A bit gummy but had good flavor. Will not make again however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This is a good Tapioca pudding recipe. But it doesn't need baking. Simply prepare it on your stove-top as indicated in the recipe, allow it to cool for perhaps 10-15 minutes then cover it with plastic wrap and refrigerate it for an hour or more. Delicious! Great with whipped cream or CoolWhip on top.(want it creamier? fold in 1/2 cup heavy/whipping cream just prior to refrigerating it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe if you follow the directions and ingredients!!! It belonged to a grandmother, that means when it was written they didn't have "instant" anything. Use whole, non-instant ingredients. That means LARGE WHOLE eggs, WHOLE Milk, NON-INSTANT Pearl Tapioca and NON-INSTANT Rice. Yes, it will take longer. For a rich, delicious dessert, use quality ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
My husband and I like Tapioca Pudding. As I read the ingredients on this recipe, I thought it sounded so good! I then read the reviews and was really confused, but I made this recipe anyway. Since I did not have any pearl tapioca on hand, I used minute tapioca and let the ingredients set the required five minutes before starting to cook; I also used 1 cup uncooked minute rice which I added before baking. I omitted the raisins as my husband does not like them. As another reviewer mentions, it did look curdled when I took it out of the oven; that disappeared as it cooled. After this cooled overnight and the flavors blended, it was very good! When I make this again, I think that I will omit the baking and just boil it per the instructions on the minute tapioca, adding the uncooked rice and vanilla after it has boiled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
The world is not a better place becaues of it. I made it three times ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
First try didn't thicken so well , so I changed the recipe some , I used 1 1/2 cups of quick tapioca instead of the rice and added the eggs and vanilla after the tapioca thickened on top of the stove , then added the raisins , WORKED GREAT and didn't bake in oven ! ! ! ! the first try I don't think the tapioca was cooked long enough (my fault)the longer you cook the tapioca the thicker it gets the whole family loved it ! ! ! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States