Tapenade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 9, 2004
The key to this recipe is rinsing the kalamatas and the anchovies really well. To the person who said it doesn't look pretty: I suggest that you present it with a thin layer of bread crumbs sprinkled over the top of it. Or, use cookie-cutters (stars, hearts, lighthouses, whatever) to cut shapes out of mozzarella or provelone slices to place on top of it. More generally, I think this is better suited to being offered as a canape (read: served already spread on the slices of bread). I agree that the general public might not choose to test a bowl of black mushy stuff. Plus, a little goes a long way; someone unfamiliar with tapenade might try a huge heaping tablespoon on a tiny piece of bread and be overwhelmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
Very tasty and never had anything quite like it. The garlic was a little strong so will cut down to 1/2 garlic clove next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
Excellent recipe for an appetizer! I broiled pieces of pita bread sprinkled with olive oil, garlic powder, and salt until golden brown. It accompanies the recipe very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
This was a hit before our dinner with friends last evening. I served it with one of those small sliced party loaves of rye bread. And best of all, so EASY to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
This is a great recipe, however, it was to puree'd by the time you get the oil added in. The second time I made this I used my food processor and added the garlic, olives, anchovies and capers and omitted the rest of the ingredients (thyme, rosemary, lemon juice and oil) and we liked it a lot more. It was more of the original italian tapenade without being overwhelmed with the herbs and lemon juice. Being able to omit the oil was a bonus! If you like it thin then Jim's recipe is ideal for mixing with hot pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
Fabulous! I added additional fresh herbs - parsley, basil, fresh grated parmesan with a dollop of good olive oil in the food processor. Excellent taste. I served on small toasts with a italian parsley leaf and small square of roasted red pepper as garnish - beautiful presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
While the flavor wasn't bad, the dip doesn't look so appetizing. As a result, a lot of my guests just skipped over it. Most of them had never heard of Tapenade & were not moved to taste it. Threw most of it out. Big waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This was VERY yummy and EASY to make. I took the suggestion of another reviewer and did it in a processor. It is great as a spread on a sandwich or on a cracker. Don't let the anchovies sway you to not make.....you can't even taste them. This will become a staple, Thanks, Jim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
I tried this with what I had on hand, only had regular black olives and green pimento stuffed olives. I then used it as a base for an artichoke pasta salad and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
This was pretty good. The anchovies took away from the olive taste and really added more salt then necessary. I substituted sun dried tomatoes for the capers. Big hit for people who like olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Seaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States