Tapenade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This was too much work for a just OK payoff. I don't think I'll use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This was fantastic! I use half Kalamata half regular black olives to cut the saltiness although tapenade is supposed to be salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I followed this recipe to a tee (except I couldn't find pitted olives where I live and so had to pit a jar myself) The tapenade was bitter when finished. I wonder whether style, type and brand of olives makes a difference? So, I added a jar of black olives for balance, 1/4 cup of roasted red peppers, salt and a bit of sugar. Oh...and some parmesan cheese. The flavor was better. The flavor really gets better after a day, so don't be afraid to make this ahead of time. I wondered if my guests would like it. I served it with crostini and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This recipe achieves a great rich olive flavor. The anchovies are not overpowering. It is simple mixing, and it gets great reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Enjoyed this very much, have made several times with a little change, I use 1-1/2 cups Kalamata Olives, 1-1/2 cups canned black olives (cuts the saltiness), about 1 tbsp of lemon juice and 1 tsp of lemon zest, good dash of black pepper and follow the rest of the ingredients, coarse chop in food processor, slowly adding the Olive Oil till the right consistency, and serve on French bread or crackers. Keeps well. Stir & allow to approach room temp before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
Very disappointed in this. I have never had tapenade before so maybe it just isn't for me. I am a huge fan of kalamata olives so I thought this would be great. I couldn't taste anything besides the olives though. Seemed like a waste of money and time to mix all those things together to only taste olives. Was also extra salty even though I rinsed the olives and sardines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Seemed awfully salty, even though I didn't add any. Next time I don't think I'll put it out as a spread, but instead put a small amount as a topping on bread or something. A little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
This was a lot of work - and while my guests liked it - I did not. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
This recipe makes a fantastic tapenade. I used anchovy paste and dried herbs because I already had them on hand. I'm sure fresh herbs make it even better. I served this with a crusty baguette and had leftovers to snack on for a few days. It was even good on saltine crackers and kept well in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2004
The key to this recipe is rinsing the kalamatas and the anchovies really well. To the person who said it doesn't look pretty: I suggest that you present it with a thin layer of bread crumbs sprinkled over the top of it. Or, use cookie-cutters (stars, hearts, lighthouses, whatever) to cut shapes out of mozzarella or provelone slices to place on top of it. More generally, I think this is better suited to being offered as a canape (read: served already spread on the slices of bread). I agree that the general public might not choose to test a bowl of black mushy stuff. Plus, a little goes a long way; someone unfamiliar with tapenade might try a huge heaping tablespoon on a tiny piece of bread and be overwhelmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States