Tapenade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2004
The key to this recipe is rinsing the kalamatas and the anchovies really well. To the person who said it doesn't look pretty: I suggest that you present it with a thin layer of bread crumbs sprinkled over the top of it. Or, use cookie-cutters (stars, hearts, lighthouses, whatever) to cut shapes out of mozzarella or provelone slices to place on top of it. More generally, I think this is better suited to being offered as a canape (read: served already spread on the slices of bread). I agree that the general public might not choose to test a bowl of black mushy stuff. Plus, a little goes a long way; someone unfamiliar with tapenade might try a huge heaping tablespoon on a tiny piece of bread and be overwhelmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Enjoyed this very much, have made several times with a little change, I use 1-1/2 cups Kalamata Olives, 1-1/2 cups canned black olives (cuts the saltiness), about 1 tbsp of lemon juice and 1 tsp of lemon zest, good dash of black pepper and follow the rest of the ingredients, coarse chop in food processor, slowly adding the Olive Oil till the right consistency, and serve on French bread or crackers. Keeps well. Stir & allow to approach room temp before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This was VERY yummy and EASY to make. I took the suggestion of another reviewer and did it in a processor. It is great as a spread on a sandwich or on a cracker. Don't let the anchovies sway you to not make.....you can't even taste them. This will become a staple, Thanks, Jim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
added some good parmesan cheese and fresh italian parsley and oregano. i also used anchovy paste. it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKA GIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2001
The real thing. However, it is greatly improved if you double the garlic, and use half Kalamata and half Nicoise (or picholine) olives. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
This is a great recipe, however, it was to puree'd by the time you get the oil added in. The second time I made this I used my food processor and added the garlic, olives, anchovies and capers and omitted the rest of the ingredients (thyme, rosemary, lemon juice and oil) and we liked it a lot more. It was more of the original italian tapenade without being overwhelmed with the herbs and lemon juice. Being able to omit the oil was a bonus! If you like it thin then Jim's recipe is ideal for mixing with hot pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
Fabulous! I added additional fresh herbs - parsley, basil, fresh grated parmesan with a dollop of good olive oil in the food processor. Excellent taste. I served on small toasts with a italian parsley leaf and small square of roasted red pepper as garnish - beautiful presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
Excellent recipe for an appetizer! I broiled pieces of pita bread sprinkled with olive oil, garlic powder, and salt until golden brown. It accompanies the recipe very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
This was pretty good. The anchovies took away from the olive taste and really added more salt then necessary. I substituted sun dried tomatoes for the capers. Big hit for people who like olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Seaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
This was delicious and very easy to make. I brought it to a party and it was demolished! The only suggestion I have is to use a food processor not blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States